Library Databases
Click on the links below to search for periodical articles, biographical information, and criticism and interpretation. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card.
Use these databases initially:
- Literature Resource Center
- Literature Criticism Online
- ProjectMUSE
- JSTOR Arts and Sciences III Collection
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Ebrary
- ABC-CLIO Ebook Collection
Use this databases for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:
To further research cultures around the world, throughout history, use:
To further research historical context, you might use:
- Historical New York Times (1851-2002)
- Historical Washington Post (1877-1989)
- Historical Baltimore Sun (1837-1985)
Use these databases to broaden your search:
Searching for Full Text
NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?
- Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page,
which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.
For assistance, contact the reference desk via e-mail at refdesk@aacc.edu or by phone at 410-777-2456.
Read or Search Chopin's The Awakening Online
Full text of Chopin's The Awakening is available on the Web at:
Print copies are also available in Truxal Library.
Reference Materials
Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about The Awakening. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.
- American Diversity, American Identity: The Lives and Works of 145 Writers Who Define the American Experience
- American Women Writers [vol 1]
- American Writers [supl 1, part 1]
- Contemporary Authors [vol 122]
- The Critical Temper: A Survey of Modern Criticism on English and American Literature from the Beginnings to the Twentieth Century [vol 4]
- Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 1]
- Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 1]
- Edith Wharton and Kate Chopin: A Reference Guide
- Great Lives from History: American Women Series [vol 2]
- The Kate Chopin Companion
- Masterplots [vol 1]
- Masterplots II: Women's Literature Series [vol 1]
- Modern American Literature [vols 1, 4]
- The National Cyclopaedia of American Biography [vol 25]
- Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
- [vol 20] - locate the topical essay "The Bildungsroman in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
- [vol 104] - locate the topical essay "The Sea in Nineteenth-Century English and American Literature"
- [vol 116] - locate the topical essay "Literature of the New South"
- [vol 120] - locate the topical essay "American Realism"
- [vol 152] - locate the topical essay "The Bildungsroman in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
- [vol 164] - locate the topical essays "Gender in Nineteenth-Century Literature" and "Decadence in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
- [vol 176] - locate the topical essay "Motherhood in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
- [vol 180] - locate the topical essay "Homosexuality in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
- [vol 184] - locate the topical essay "The American Literary Renaissance"
- [vol 188] - locate the topical essay "Regionalism and Local Color in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
- [vol 20] - locate the topical essay "The Bildungsroman in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
- Notable American Novelists [vol 1]
- Novels for Students [vol 3]
- The Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States
- Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
- [vols 5, 14] - Check under The Awakening in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
- [vol 94] - locate the topical essay "Women in Modern Literature"
- [vol 138] - locate the topical essay "Racism in Literature"
Books & Audio/Visual Materials
Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for:
- Chopin, Kate
You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about Kate Chopin, as well criticism and interpretation of her work.
Research Assistance
If we can further assist you in your search for information, please drop by the reference desk or contact reference staff by phone at 410-777-2456 or by email at refdesk@aacc.edu.
NEW RULES
MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:
Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.
eBook Spotlight
You might find the following eBooks useful for researching The Age of Innocence. You will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card to access these resources from off-campus.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait