Skip to main content
Click on the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.
Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:
To further research historical context of literary works, use:
Use these databases to broaden your search:
Read or Search Tess of the D'Urbervilles at Google Books
Read or Search Other Online Editions
Full text of Tess of the D'Urbervilles is also available on the Web at:
Print copies are available in Truxal Library.
Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about This Literary Work. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.
- British Authors of the Nineteenth Century
- British Writers [vol 6]
- The Cambridge Guide to English Literature
- Companion to Victorian Literature and Culture
- Critical Survey of Long Fiction [vols 3, 8]
- The Critical Temper [vols 2, 4, 5]
- Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 4]
- Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 3]
- Cyclopedia of World Authors [vol 2]
- Dictionary of British Literary Characters: 18th- and 19th-Century Novels
- Edwardian and Georgian Fiction
- Literature and Its Times [vol 2]
- Masterplots [vol 11]
- Novels for Students [vol 3]
- The Oxford Companion to English LIterature
- Oxford Reader's Companion to Hardy
- A Thomas Hardy Dictionary: The Characters and Scenes of the Novels and Poems Alphabetically Arranged and Described
- Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
- [vols 4, 10, 18, 32, 48, 53, 72, 143, 229] - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals; look for Tess of the D'Urbervilles in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
- [vol 82] - locate the topical essay "Sex in Literature"
- [vol 128] - locate the topical essay "Fashion in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
- [vol 156] - locate the topical essay "The New Woman in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
- The Victorian
Books & Audio/Visual Materials
Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for either:
- Tess of the D'Urbervilles
- Hardy, Thomas
library materials that provide biographical information about Thomas Hardy, as well criticism and interpretation of his work.
You might find the following eBooks useful for researching Tess of the D'Urbervilles. If
not on campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back
of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access these resources.
MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:
Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.
Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography