Library Databases
Click on the links below to search for periodical articles, biographical information, and criticism and interpretation. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card.
Use these databases initially:
- Literature Resource Center
- Literature Criticism Online
- ProjectMUSE
- JSTOR Arts and Sciences III Collection
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Ebrary
- ABC-CLIO Ebook Collection
Use this databases for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:
To further research cultures around the world, throughout history, use:
To further research historical context, you might use:
- Historical New York Times (1851-2002)
- Historical Washington Post (1877-1989)
- Historical Baltimore Sun (1837-1985)
Use these databases to broaden your search:
Searching for Full Text
NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?
- Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page,
which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.
For assistance, contact the reference desk via e-mail at refdesk@aacc.edu or by phone at 410-777-2456.
Reference Material
Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Roddy Doyle and/or A Star Called Henry. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.
- A Companion to the British and Irish Novel, 1945-2000
- Conflict in Northern Ireland: An Encyclopedia
- Contemporary Authors [vol 143]
- Contemporary Authors, New Revision Series [vol 73]
- Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
- [vol 81] - check under Star Called Henry in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
- Contemporary Novelists
- Magill's Literary Annual 2000 [vol 2]
Books & Audio/Visual Materials
Search the Library Catalog for the following selected titles:
- Agony at Easter: The 1916 Irish Uprising, Thomas M. Coffey, 1971
- The Damnable Question: A Study in Anglo-Irish Relations, George Dangerfield, 1976
- Dublin Castle and the 1916 Rising, León O'Broin, 1971
- Dublin, 1916, Roger McHugh, ed, 1966
- Irish Writers on Writing, Eavan Boland, ed, 2007
- Leaders and Men of the Easter Rising: Dublin 1916, F. X. Martin, ed, 1967
- No Mean City?: The Image of Dublin in the Novels of Dermot Bolger, Roddy Doyle, and Val Mulkerns, Ulrike Paschel, 1998
- Out of the Lion's Paw, Ireland Wins her Freedom, Constantine FitzGibbon, 1969
- Reading Roddy Doyle, Carmine White, 2001
- Roddy Doyle: The Essential Guide to Contemporary Literature, Margaret Reynolds and Johathan Noakes, 2004
- Roddy Doyle: Raining on the Parade, Dermont McCarthy, 2003
Research Assistance
If we can further assist you in your search for information, please drop by the reference desk or contact reference staff by phone at 410-777-2456 or by email at refdesk@aacc.edu.
NEW RULES
MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:
Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait