Skip to main content

Snow Falling on Cedars (1994): Library Resources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching David Guterson's Snow Falling on Cedars

Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.

Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:     

To further research historical context of literary works, use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

Searching for Full Text

NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or refdesk@aacc.edu.

Reference Material

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about David Guterson's Snow Falling on Cedars. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

  • Contemporary Authors [vol 132]
  • Contemporary Authors, New Revision Series [vol 73]
  • Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
    • [vol 91] - check under Snow Falling on Cedars in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
  • David Guterson's Snow Falling on Cedars: A Reader's Guide
  • Novels for Students [vol 13]
  • Understanding the Literature of World War II: A Student Casebook to Issues, Sources, and Historical Documents

Books & Audio/Visual Materials

Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for either:

  • Guterson, David
  • Japanese Americans--Evacuation and relocation, 1942-1945

You'll find library materials that provide information about Snow Falling on Cedars and Japanese internment during WWII.

eBook Spotlight

You might find the following eBooks useful for researching Snow Falling on Cedars. If not on campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access these resources.

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

NEW RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography