Skip to main content

Slaughterhouse-Five (1969): Library Resources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching Kurt Vonnegut's Slaughterhouse-Five

Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.

Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:     

To further research historical context of literary works, use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

Searching for Full Text

NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or refdesk@aacc.edu.

Alternate Titles

Please note that Kurt Vonnegut's Slaughterhouse-Five has an alternate title: The Children's Crusade: A Duty-Dance with Death

Reference Materials

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Slaughterhouse-Five. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

  • American Diversity, American Identity: The Lives and Works of 145 Writers Who Define the American Experience
  • American Writers [supp II, part 2; supp V]
  • Bloom's Literary Themes: Death and Dying
  • Classic Cult Fiction: A Companion to Popular Cult Literature
  • Critical Companion to Kurt Vonnegut: A Literary Reference to His Life and Work
  • Critical Insights: Kurt Vonnegut
  • Critical Insights: Slaughterhouse-Five
  • Critical Survey of Long Fiction [vol 7]
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 4]
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 3]
  • Cyclopedia of World Authors [vol 5]
  • Facts on File Companion to the American Novel  [vol 3]
  • Kurt Vonnegut: A Critical Companion
  • Literature and Its Times: Profiles of 300 Notable Literary Works and the Historical Events that Influenced Them [vol 4]
  • Masterplots [vol 10]
  • Notable American Novelists [vol 3]
  • Novels for Students [vol 3]
  • Thematic Guide to the American Novel
  • Understanding the Literature of World War II: A Student Casebook to Issues, Sources, and Historical Documents
  • The Vonnegut Encyclopedia: An Authorized Compendium

Books & Audio/Visual Materials

Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for either:

  • Slaughterhouse-Five
  • Vonnegut, Kurt

You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about Kurt Vonnegut, as well criticism and interpretation of his work.

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

NEW RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography