Skip to main content

Silas Marner: The Weaver Of Raveloe (1861): Library Resources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching George Eliot's Silas Marner: The Weaver Of Raveloe.

Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.

Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:     

To further research historical context of literary works, use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

Searching for Full Text

NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or refdesk@aacc.edu.

Read or Search Eliot's Silas Marner Online

Full text of Eliot's Silas Marner:The Weaver Of Raveloe is available on the Web at:

Print copies are also available in Truxal Library.

Reference Materials

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Silas Marner. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

  • British Authors [5]
  • Critical Survey of Long Fiction [vol 2]
  • The Critical Temper [vol 3]
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 4]
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 3]
  • Cyclopepdia of World Authors [vol 2]
  • The Library of Literary Criticism [vol 7]
  • Masterplots [vol 10]
  • Ninteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
    • [vols 4, 13, 23, 41, 49, 89, 118, 183, 199] - look for Silas Marner in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
    • [vol 32] - locate the topical essay "The Victorian Novel"
    • [vol 96] - locate the topical essay "Orientalism"
    • [vol 176] - locate the topical essay "Motherhood in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
  • Novels for Students [vol 20]
  • The Victorian Novel

Books & Audio/Visual Materials

Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for:

  • Eliot, George (1819-1880)

You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about George Eliot, as well criticism and interpretation of Eliot's works.

eBook Spotlight

You might find the following eBooks useful for researching Silas MarnerIf not on campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access these resources.

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

NEW RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography