This is the "Library Resources" page of the "The Scarlet Letter (1850)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

The Scarlet Letter (1850)  Tags: scarlet letter nathaniel hawthorne  

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching Nathaniel Hawthorne's The Scarlet Letter
Last update: Jul 29th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.aacc.edu/scarletletter  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates

Library Resources             Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for periodical articles, biographical information, and criticism and interpretation. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card.

Use these databases initially:

Use this databases for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:

To further research cultures around the world, throughout history, use:

To further research historical context, you might use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

 

Searching for Full Text

NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?

    Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page,
    which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk via e-mail at refdesk@aacc.edu or by phone at 410-777-2456.

 
 

Read or Search Hawthorne's The Scarlet Letter Online

Full text of Hawthorne's The Scarlet Letter is available on the Web at:

Print copies are also available in Truxal Library.

 

Reference Materials

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about The Scarlet Letter. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

  • American Diversity, American Identity: The Lives and Works of 145 Writers Who Define the American Experience
  • The American Renaissance
  • Critical Survey of Long Fiction [vols 3, 7]
  • The Critical Temper [vol 3]
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 4]
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 3]
  • Cyclopepdia of World Authors [vol 3]
  • The Handbook of Gothic Literature
  • The Library of Literary Criticism [vol 4]
  • Masterplots [vol 10]
  • Ninteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
    • [vols 2, 10, 17, 23, 29, 79, 95, 158, 171] - look for Scarlet Letter in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
    • [vol 48] - locate the topical essay "Nineteenth-Century Historical Fiction"
    • [vol 76] - locate the topical essay "Madness in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
    • [vol 116] - locate the topical essay "The Prison in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
    • [vol 128] - locate the topical essay "American Literary Criticism in the Nineteeth Century"
    • [vol 140] - locate the topical essay "Ecocriticism in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
    • [vol 144] - locate the topical essay "Nineteeth Century Pornography"
    • [vol 164] - locate the topical essay "Gender in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
    • [vol 176] - locate the topical essay "Motherhood in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
    • [vol 184] - locate the topical essay "The American Literary Renaissance"
    • [vol 192] - locate the topical essay "Calvinism in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
  • Notable American Novelists [vol 2]
  • Novels for Students [vol 1]
  • Student Companion to Nathaniel Hawthorne
  • Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
    • [vol 86] - locate the topical essay "Folklore and Literature"
    • [vol 126] - locate the topical essay "Law and Literature"
  • Understanding The Scarlet Letter: A Student Casebook to Issues, Sources, and Historical Documents
 

Books & Audio/Visual Materials

Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for:

  • Hawthorne, Nathaniel (1804-1864)

You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about Nathaniel Hawthorne, as well criticism and interpretation of Hawthorne's works.

 
 

Research Assistance

If we can further assist you in your search for information, please drop by the reference desk or contact reference staff by phone at 410-777-2456 or by email at refdesk@aacc.edu.

 

NEW RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.

eBook Spotlight

You might find the following eBooks useful for researching Silas Marner.  You will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card to access these resources from off-campus.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait