Skip to main content

A Raisin in the Sun (1959): Library Resources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching Lorraine Hansberry's A Raisin in the Sun

Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.

Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:     

To further research historical context of literary works, use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

Searching for Full Text

NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or refdesk@aacc.edu.

Reference Materials

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Lorraine Hansberry's A Raisin in the Sun. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

  • American Women Writers [vol 2]
  • American Writers [supl 4, part 1]
  • Black Literature Criticism [vol 2]
  • Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
    • [vols 17, 62] - look for Raisin in the Sun in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
  • Critical Survey of Drama [vol 3]
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 4]
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 3]
  • Drama Criticism [vol 2]
  • Drama for Students [vol 2]
  • Dramatists and Drama
  • Great Writers of the English Language - Dramatists
  • Literature and Its Times [4]
  • Lorraine Hansberry's A Raisin in the Sun
  • Masterplots [vol 9]
  • Masterplots II: African American Literature [vol 3]
  • Masterplots II: Drama [vol 3]
  • Masterplots II: Women's Literature [vol 5]
  • McGraw Encyclopedia of World Drama [vols 1, 2]
  • Modern American Literature [vol 3]
  • The Oxford Dictionary of Plays
  • Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
    • [vol 154] - locate the topical essay "The Chicago Renaissance"
    • [vol 210] - locate the topical essay "The American Dream in Literature"
  • Understanding A Raisin in the Sun: A Student Casebook to Issues, Sources, and Historical Documents

Books & Audio/Visual Materials

Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for either:

  • Hansberry, Lorraine
  • American drama--African American authors

You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about Lorraine Hansberry, as well criticism and interpretation of her work.

eBook Spotlight

You might find the following eBooks useful for researching A Raisin in the SunIf not on campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access these resources.

Research Guide to Theater

Want more information about various productions and critical reception of this play?

Visit our Research Guide to Theater Arts

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

NEW RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography