Library Databases
Click on the links below to search for periodical articles, biographical information, and criticism and interpretation. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card.
Use these databases initially:
- Literature Resource Center
- Literature Criticism Online
- MagillOnLiterature Plus
- ProjectMUSE
- JSTOR Arts and Sciences III Collection
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Ebrary
- ABC-CLIO Ebook Collection
Use this databases for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:
To further research cultures around the world, throughout history, use:
To further research historical context, you might use:
- Historical New York Times (1851-2002)
- Historical Washington Post (1877-1989)
- Historical Baltimore Sun (1837-1985)
Use these databases to broaden your search:
Searching for Full Text
NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?
- Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page,
which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.
For assistance, contact the reference desk via e-mail at refdesk@aacc.edu or by phone at 410-777-2456.
Read or Search Cather's My Ántonia Online
Full text of Cather's My Ántonia is available on the Web at:
Print copies are also available in Truxal Library.
Reference Materials
Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Willa Cather's My Ántonia. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.
- American Diversity, American Identity: The Lives and Works of 145 Writers Who Define the American Experience
- American Writers [vol 1]
- American Women Writers [vol 1]
- Contemporary Authors [vols 104, 128]
- Cyclopedia of World Authors [vol 1]
- Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 3]
- Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 2]
- Encyclopedia of American Social History
- Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century
- Great Lives from History: American Women Series
- Masterplots [vol 7]
- Masterplots II: Women's Literature Series [vol 4]
- Modern American Literature [vols 1, 4, 5, 6]
- Modern American Women Writers
- Notable American Novelists [vol 1]
- Novels for Students [vol 2]
- A Reader's Companion to the Fiction of Willa Cather
- Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
- [vols 1, 11, 31, 99, 132, 152] - check under My Ántonia in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
- [vol 28] - locate the topical essay "The American Frontier in Literature"
- [vol 50] - locate the topical essay "Madness in Twentieth-Century Literature"
- [vol 82] - locate the topical essay "Sex in Literature"
- [vol 94] - locate the topical essay "Women in Modern Literature"
- [vol 132] - locate the "Special Commissioned Entry on Willa Cather"
- [vol 182] - locate the topical essay "American Literary Naturalism"
- [vol 206] - locate the topical essay "American Immigrant Literature"
Books & Audio/Visual Materials
Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for either:
- Cather, Willa
You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about Willa Cather, as well criticism and interpretation of her work.
Research Assistance
If we can further assist you in your search for information, please drop by the reference desk or contact reference staff by phone at 410-777-2456 or by email at refdesk@aacc.edu.
NEW RULES
MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:
Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.
eBook Spotlight
You might find the following eBooks useful for researching My Ántonia. You will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card to access these resources from off-campus.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait