Skip to main content

Maus (1986, 1991): Library Resources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching Art Spiegelman's Maus.

Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.

Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:     

To further research historical context of literary works, use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

Searching for Full Text

NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or refdesk@aacc.edu.

Reference Materials

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Maus. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

  • Contemporary Jewish-American Novelists: A Bio-critical Sourcebook
  • Contemporary Literary Criticism - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
    • [vols 76, 178] - look for Maus in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
    • [vol 86] - locate the topical essay "Graphic Narratives"
    • [vol 177] - locate the topical essay "Graphic Novels"
  • Daily Life During the Holocaust
  • Encyclopedia of the Holocaust
  • Historical Atlas of the Holocaust
  • The Holocaust
  • The Holocaust Encyclopedia
  • Literature of the Holocaust
  • Novels for Students [vol 35]
  • Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
    • [vol 66] - locate the topical essay "Comic Books"

Books & Audio/Visual Materials

    Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for either:

    • Spiegelman, Art
    • Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)

    You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about the Holocaust and Art Spiegelman, as well criticism and interpretation of his work.

      Research Assistance

      More ways to get help:

      NEW RULES

      MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

      Using a citation generator from a database or website?
      Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.

      Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography