This is the "Library Resources" page of the "The Maltese Falcon (1930)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

The Maltese Falcon (1930)  Tags: dashiell hammett maltese falcon  

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for research Dashiell Hammett's The Maltese Falcon
Last update: Jul 29th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.aacc.edu/maltesefalcon  Print/Mobile Guide  RSS Updates

Library Resources             Print/Mobile Page
  
 

Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for periodical articles, biographical information, and criticism and interpretation. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card.

Use these databases initially:

Use this databases for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:

To further research cultures around the world, throughout history, use:

To further research historical context, you might use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

 

Searching for Full Text

NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?

    Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page,
    which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk via e-mail at refdesk@aacc.edu or by phone at 410-777-2456.

 
 

Reference Material

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Dashiell Hammett's The Maltese Falcon. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

  • American Writers [supl 4, part 1]
  • Classic Crime and Suspense Writers
  • Contemporary Authors [vol 81-84]
  • Contemporary Authors, New Revision Series [vol 42]
  • Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
    • [vols 3, 5, 19, 47] - check under The Maltese Falcon in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
    • [vol 209] - locate the topical essay "Contemporary Crime Fiction"
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 3]
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 2]
  • Cyclopedia of World Authors [vol 2]
  • Dashiell Hammett
  • A Dashiell Hammett Companion
  • Film Noir: A Comprehensive, Illustrated Reference to Movies, Terms, and Persons
  • Literary Masterpieces: The Maltese Falcon [vol 3]
  • Literary Masters: Dashiell Hammett [vol 3]
  • Literature and Its Times [vol 3]
  • Magill's Survey of Cinema: English Language Films [vol 3]
  • Masterplots [vol 7]
  • Modern American Literature [vols 2, 4, 5, 6]
  • Notable American Novelists [vol 2]
  • Novels for Students [vol 21]
  • Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals;
    • [vol 38] - locate the topical essays "Detective Fiction" and "Film and Literature"
    • [vol 70] - locate the topical essay "Popular Literature"
    • [vol 118] - locate the topical essay "Hard-Boiled Fiction"
 

Books & Audio/Visual Materials

Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for:

  • Hammett, Dashiell

You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about Dashiell Hammett, as well criticism and interpretation of his work.

 
 

Research Assistance

If we can further assist you in your search for information, please drop by the reference desk or contact reference staff by phone at 410-777-2456 or by email at refdesk@aacc.edu.

 

NEW RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.

eBook Spotlight

You might find the following eBooks useful for researching The Maltese Falcon.  You will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card to access these resources from off-campus.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait