Skip to main content
Click on the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.
Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:
To further research historical context of literary works, use:
Use these databases to broaden your search:
Read or Search Hardy's Jude the Obscure
Full text of Thomas Hardy's Jude the Obscure is available on the Web at:
Print copies are also available in Truxal Library.
Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Jude the Obscure. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.
- British Writers [vol 4]
- Contemporary Authors [vol 123]
- Critical Survey of Long Fiction [vol 3]
- The Critical Temper: A Survey of Modern Criticism on English
and American Literature from the Beginnings to the Twentieth Century [vols 3, 4]
- Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 3]
- Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 2]
- Cyclopedia of World Authors [vol 2]
- Masterplots [vol 6]
- Modern British Literature [vols 2, 4, 5]
- Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
- [vol 20] - locate the topical essay "Bildungsroman in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
- [vol 32] - locate the topical essay "The Victorian Novel"
- [vol 68] - locate the topical essay "Death in Nineteenth-Century British Literature"
- [vol 140] - locate the topical essay "Ecocriticism and Nineteenth-Century Literature"
- Oxford Reader’s Companion to Hardy
- Thomas Hardy: An Annotated Bibliography of Writings about Him
- A Thomas Hardy Dictionary
- Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
- [vols 4, 10, 18, 32, 48, 53, 72, 143, 153] - check under Jude the Obscure in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
- [vol 70] - locate the topical essay, "Alcohol and Literature"
- [vol 82] - locate the topical essay, "Sex in Literature"
- [vol 90] - locate the topical essay, "The City and Literature"
- [vol 186] - locate the topical essay, "Edwardian Literature"
- World Literture and Its Times [vol 4]
Circulating Books & Audio/Visual Materials
Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for:
- Hardy, Thomas (1840-1928)
You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about Thomas Hardy, as well criticism and interpretation of Hardy's works.
You might find the following eBooks useful for researching Jude the Obscure. If
not on campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back
of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access these resources.
MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:
Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.
Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography