Skip to main content
Click on the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.
Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:
To further research historical context of literary works, use:
Use these databases to broaden your search:
Read or Search Twain's The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn Online
Full text of Twain's The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn is available on the Web at:
Print copies are also available in Truxal Library.
Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.
American Diversity, American Identity: The Lives and Works of 145 Writers Who Define the American Experience
- American Writers: A Collection of Literary Biographies [vol 4]
- Critical Companion to Mark Twain: A Literary Reference to His Life and Work
- The Critical Temper: A Survey of Modern Criticism on English
and American Literature from the Beginnings to the Twentieth Century [vols 3, 4]
- Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 1]
- Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 1]
- Cyclopedia of World Authors [vol 3]
- Literature and Its Times [vol 2]
- Mark Twain: A Reference Guide
- The Mark Twain Encyclopedia
- Masterplots [vol 1]
- Modern American Literature [vols 1, 3, 4]
- Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
- [vol 52] - locate the topical essay "American Humor Writing"
- [vol 84] - locate the topical essay "Dime Novels"
- [vol 116] - locate the topical essay "Literature of the New South"
- [vol 120] - locate the topical essay "American Realism"
- [vol 124] - locate the topical essay "Nineteenth-Century Social Protest Literature Outside England"
- [vol 160] - locate the topical essay "The Audience and Nineteenth-Century Literature"
- [vol 172] - locate the topical essay "Childhood in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
- [vol 188] - locate the topical essay "Regionalism and Local Color in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
- Notable American Novelists [vol 3]
- Novels for Students [vol 1]
- Notable American Novelists [vol 3]
- Student Companion to Mark Twain
- Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
- [vols 6, 12, 19, 36, 48, 59, 161] - check under Adventures of Huckleberry Finn in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
- [vol 78] - locate the topical essay "Death in Literature"
- [vol 86] - locate the topical essay "Folklore in Literature"
- [vol 138] - locate the topical essay "Racisim in Literature"
- Understanding Adventures of Huckleberry Finn: A Student Casebook to Issues, Sources, and Historical Documents
Books & Audio/Visual Materials
Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for:
library materials that provide biographical information about Mark Twain, as well criticism and interpretation of his work.
You might find the following eBooks useful for researching The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. If
not on campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back
of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access these resources.
MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:
Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.
Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography