Skip to main content

The House of Mirth (1905): Library Resources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching Edith Wharton's The House of Mirth

Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.

Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:     

To further research historical context of literary works, use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

Searching for Full Text

NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or refdesk@aacc.edu.

Read or Search Wharton's The House of Mirth Online

Full text of Wharton's The House of Mirth is available on the Web at:

Print copies are also available in Truxal Library.

Reference Materials

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about The House of Mirth. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

  • American Diversity, American Identity: The Lives and Works of 145 Writers Who Define the American Experience
  • American Women Writers [vol 4]
  • American Writers [vols 4; supl 4, part 1]
  • Contemporary Authors [vol 132]
  • Critical Survey of Long Fiction [vol 7]
  • Cyclopedia of World Authors [vol 3]
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 2]
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 2]
  • Edith Wharton and Kate Chopin: A Reference Guide
  • Great Lives from History. American Women Series [vol 5]
  • Literature and Its Times [vol 3]
  • Masterplots [vol 5]
  • Masterplots II: Women's Literature Series [vol 3]
  • Modern American Literature [vols 3, 4, 5, 6]
  • Modern American Women Writer
  • Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
    • [vol 56] - locate the topical essay "The Novel of Manners"
    • [vol 120] - locate the topical essay "American Realism"
  • Notable American Novelists [vol 3]
  • Novels for Students [vol 15]
  • Twentieth Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
    • [vols 3, 9, 53, 129, 149] - check under House of Mirth in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
    • [vol 90] - locate the topical essay "The City and Literature"
    • [vol 129] - locate the "Special Commissioned Essay on Edith Wharton"
    • [vol 130] - locate the "Special Commissioned Essay on the American Novel of Manners"
    • [vol 174] - locate the topical essay "Social Realism"
    • [vol 182] - locate the topical essay "American Literary Naturalism"
    • [vol 198] - locate the topical essay "Romance Fiction in the Twentieth-Century"
  • Working Americans, 1880-1999

Books & Audio/Visual Materials

Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for either:

  • Wharton, Edith

You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about Edith Wharton, as well criticism and interpretation of her work.

eBook Spotlight

You might find the following eBooks useful for researching The House of Mirth. If not on campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access these resources.

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

NEW RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography