Skip to main content

Research Guide to History: Library Resources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching historical topics

Circulating Materials

To find books, audio/visual materials, or print periodicals on your topic, conduct a keyword or subject search in the Library Catalog.

Try synonyms and related terms:

antiquity  OR  classical
World War I  OR  World War, 1914-1918
Civil War  OR  War Between the States

From the information you find in the Catalog, be sure to note:

  • the Location of the item in the Library Building
  • the item's Call Number
  • whether the item is available or has been checked out

To become more familiar with finding materials in the Library's print collection, here's a guide to using Library of Congress call numbers:

Research by Discipline

Use other Research Guides to discover and develop historical research topics within a particular discipline:

Truxal Library also provides guides for researching particular literary works. In the search box at the top right of this page, type the author's name (for instance, Shakespeare) or title of the novel, story, or play that you're researching (for instance, Hamlet) to see if Truxal has created a guide for that work.

Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for articles from periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers, etc.) and for information from electronic books and multimedia resources. From off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections
Full text of older issues of periodicals like Classical World, Journal of Contemporary History, Journal of World History, The Oral History Review, Past & Present, and more

Project MUSE
Articles from scholarly journals like Reviews in American History, Journal of Cold War Studies, Journal of Women's History, Civil War History, and more

Academic Search Premier
Articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals, including full text from periodicals like History & Memory, History Today, The Historian, American History, Military History, and much more

Academic OneFile
Articles from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals, including full text from periodicals like World History Bulletin, MHQ: The Quarterly Journal of Military History, Law, Crime, & History, and more

National Newspapers & The Sun
Articles from the New York Times (from 1851), Washington Post (from 1877), Baltimore Sun (from 1837), Christian Science Monitor (from 1980), and Wall Street Journal (from 1984)

Daily Life through History
Historical information about different cultures throughout history

EBSCO eBook Collection
Includes thousands of titles about historical topics

Ebook Central
Includes thousands of eBooks on historical topics

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection
Includes hundreds of book titles related to historical topics

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Dozens of reference books for history, including titles like The Ancient World, American Eras: Primary Sources, Encyclopedia of World History, and more

Credo Reference
Dozens of reference books for history, including titles like Concise Atlas of World History, Encyclopedia of the Renaissance, The Great American History Fact-Finder, and more

Academic Video Online
Commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries about historical topics

Searching for Full Text

NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or refdesk@aacc.edu.

Print Reference Materials

Find these materials in the Reference Section of Truxal Library:

  • African-American Century: How Black Americans Have Shaped Our Country (Ref) E185.96 .G38
  • African American Culture and History (Ref) E185 .E54
  • African American Frontiers: Slave Narratives and Oral Histories (Ref) E444 .G68
  • African American Years (Ref) E185 .S797
  • American Revolution, 1775-1789: An Encyclopedia (Ref) E208 .A433
  • Atlas of Early American History: The Revolutionary Era, 1760-1790 (Ref) G1201 .S3 .A8
  • Atlas of the Civil War (Ref) E468 .W754
  • Book of Old Maps Delineating American History from the Earliest Days Down to the Close of the Revolutionary War  (Ref) GA405 .F5
  • Books about Early America: 2001 Titles (Ref) E188 .A54
  • Civil War Maps (Ref) GA405.5 .L52
  • Columbia Guide to American Women in the Nineteenth Century (Ref) HQ1418 .C58
  • Companion to American Cultural History (Ref) E169.1 .C684
  • Dictionary of American Biography (Ref) E176 .D5
  • Dictionary of American History (Ref) E174 .D52
  • Dictionary of the Middle Ages (Ref) CB361 .E52
  • Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present: from the Age of Segregation to the Twenty-first Century  (Ref) E185 .E5453
  • Encyclopedia of Ancient History (Ref) D54 .E53
  • Encyclopedia of Colonial and Revolutionary America (Ref) E188 .E63
  • Encyclopedia of Confederacy (Ref) E487 .E55
  • Encyclopedia of the American Civil War (Ref) E468 .E53
  • Encyclopedia of the American Revolution: Library of Military History (Ref) E159 .B67
  • Encyclopedia of the Renaissance (Ref) CB361 .E52
  • Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World (Ref) HQ1127 .S25
  • Exploration & Colonial America (1492-1755)  (Ref) E187 .E96
  • Landmarks of the American Revolution: Library of Military History (Ref) E159 .B67
  • New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture (Ref) E209 .N47
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome (Ref) DE5 .O95
  • Revolutionary America, 1763-1789: a Bibliography (Ref) E208 G43 
  • The Routledge History of Sex and the Body: 1500 to the Present  (Ref) HQ12 .R69 2013
  • The Value of a Dollar: Prices and Incomes in the United States, 1860 -2014  (Ref) HB235 .U6 D47 2014 
  • Working Americans, 1880 - 2012  (Ref) HD8066 .D47 2012

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

NEWEST RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change over time, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the newest rules.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography