Skip to main content

Heart of Darkness (1899): Library Resources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching Joseph Conrad's Heart of Darkness

Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.

Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:     

To further research historical context of literary works, use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

Searching for Full Text

NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or refdesk@aacc.edu.

Read or Search Conrad's Heart of Darkness Online

Full text of Conrad's Heart of Darkness is available on the Web at:

Print copies are also available in Truxal Library.

Reference Materials

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Heart of Darkness. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

  • Critical Survey of Long Fiction [vol 2]
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 2]
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 2]
  • Cyclopedia of World Authors [vol 1]
  • Edwardian and Georgian Fiction
  • A Joseph Conrad Companion
  • Literature and Its Times [vol 2]
  • Masterplots [vol 5]
  • Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
    • [vol 56] - locate the topical essay "Colonialism in Victorian Literature"
    • [vol 148] - locate the topical essay "Representations of Africa in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
  • Novels for Students [vol 2]
  • The Oxford Reader's Companion to Conrad
  • Short Stories for Students [vol 12]
  • Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
    • [vols 1, 6, 13, 25, 43, 57] - check under Heart of Darkness in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
    • [vol 138] - locate the topical essay "Racism in Literature"
    • [vol 202] - locate the topical essay "Adventure Literature"

Books & Audio/Visual Materials

Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for:

  • Conrad, Joseph

You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about Joseph Conrad, as well criticism and interpretation of his work.

eBook Spotlight

You might find the following eBooks useful for researching Heart of DarknessIf not on campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access these resources.

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

NEW RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography