Library Databases
Click on the links below to search for periodical articles, biographical information, and criticism and interpretation. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card.
Use these databases initially:
- Literature Resource Center
- Literature Criticism Online
- ProjectMUSE
- JSTOR Arts and Sciences III Collection
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Ebrary
- ABC-CLIO Ebook Collection
Use this databases for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:
To further research cultures around the world, throughout history, use:
To further research historical context, you might use:
- Historical New York Times (1851-2002)
- Historical Washington Post (1877-1989)
- Historical Baltimore Sun (1837-1985)
Use these databases to broaden your search:
Searching for Full Text
NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?
- Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page,
which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.
For assistance, contact the reference desk via e-mail at refdesk@aacc.edu or by phone at 410-777-2456.
Alternate Titles
Read or Search Swift's Gulliver's Travels Online
Full text of Swift's Gulliver's Travels is available on the Web at:
Print copies are also available in Truxal Library.
Reference Materials
Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Gulliver's Travels. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.
- British Writers [vols 2, 3, 4, 7]
- The Critical Temper: A Survey of Modern Criticism on English and American Literature from the Beginnings to the Twentieth Century [vols 2, 4]
- Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 2]
- Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 2]
- Cyclopedia of World Authors [vol 3]
- The Dictionary of Imaginary Places
- The Library of Literary Criticism [vol 3]
- Literature and Its Times [vol 1]
- Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
- [vols 1, 42, 101] - check under Travels into Several Remote Nations of the World, in Four Parts; By Lemuel Gulliver in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
- Masterplots [vol 5]
- Novels for Students [vol 6]
- Social Protest Literature: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and Themes
- Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
- [vol 126] - locate the topical essay "Law and Literature"
- [vol 126] - locate the topical essay "Law and Literature"
- World Literature and Its Times [vol 3]
Books & Audio/Visual Materials
Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for either:
- Swift, Jonathan
- Gulliver's Travels
You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about Jonathan Swift, as well criticism and interpretation of his work.
Research Assistance
If we can further assist you in your search for information, please drop by the reference desk or contact reference staff by phone at 410-777-2456 or by email at refdesk@aacc.edu.
NEW RULES
MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:
Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.
eBook Spotlight
You might find the following eBooks useful for researching Gulliver's Travels. You will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card to access these resources from off-campus.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait