Skip to main content
Click on the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.
Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:
To further research historical context of literary works, use:
Use these databases to broaden your search:
Read or Search Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby Online
Full text of Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby is available on the Web at:
Print copies are also available in Truxal Library.
Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about The Great Gatsby. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.
- American Diversity, American Identity: The Lives and Works of 145 Writers Who Define the American Experience
- American Writers Since 1900
- American Writers: A Collection of Literary Biographies [vol 2]
- Classic Cult Fiction: A Companion to Popular Cult Literature
- Contemporary Authors [vols 110, 123]
- Critical Survey of Long Fiction [vol 3]
- Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 2]
- Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 2]
- Cyclopedia of World Authors [vol 1]
- F. Scott Fitzgerald
- Literary Masterpieces: The Great Gatsby
- Literature and Its Times [vol 3]
- Masterplots [vol 5]
- Modern American Literature [vols 1, 4, 5, 6]
- Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
- [vol 56] - locate the topical essay "The Novel of Manners"
- Notable American Novelists [vol 2]
- Novels for Students [vol 2]
- The Oxford Illustrated Literary Guide to the United States
- Student Companion to F. Scott Fitzgerald
- Thematic Guide to the American Novel
- Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
- [vols 1, 6, 14, 28, 55, 157] - check under The Great Gatsby in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
- [vol 54] - locate the topical essay "Crime in Twentieth-Century Literature"
- [vol 70] - locate the topical essays, "Modernism" and "Alcohol and Literature"
- [vol 82] - locate the topical essay "Blues in Literature"
- [vol 110] - locate the topical essay "Christianity in Twentieth-Century Literature"
- [vol 130] - locate the "Special Commissioned Essay on the American Novel of Manners"
- [vol 142] - locate the topical essay "The Grail Theme in Twentieth-Century Literature"
- [vol 178] - locate the topical essay "Writers of the Lost Generation"
- [vol 210] - locate the topical essay "The American Dream in Literature"
- Understanding The Great Gatsby: A Student Casebook to Issues, Sources, and Historical Documents
- World Authors 1900-1950 [vol 2]
Books & Audio/Visual Materials
Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for:
library materials that provide biographical information about F. Scott Fitzgerald as well criticism and interpretation of his work.
You might find the following eBooks useful for researching The Great Gatsby. If
not on campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back
of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access these resources.
MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:
Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.
Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography