Skip to main content
Click on the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.
Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:
To further research historical context of literary works, use:
Use these databases to broaden your search:
Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about The Glass Menagerie. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.
- American Diversity, American Identity: The Lives and Works of 145 Writers Who Define the American Experience
- American Writers [vol 4]
- American Writers since 1900
- The Companion to Southern Literature
- Contemporary Authors [vol 5-8R]
- Contemporary Authors, New Revision Series [vol 31]
- Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
- [vols 1, 2, 5, 7, 8, 11, 15, 19, 30, 39, 71, 111] - look for The Glass Menagerie in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
- A Critical Companion to Tennesee Williams
- The Critical Reputation of Tennessee Williams
- Critical Survey of Drama [vol 7]
- Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 2]
- Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 1]
- Cyclopedia of World Authors [vol 3]
- Dictionary of Literary Biography [vol 7, part 2]
- Drama Criticism [vol 4]
- Drama for Students [vol 1]
- Dramatists and Drama
- Encyclopedia of Southern Literature
- Fifty Southern Writers after 1900
- Great Writers of the English Language - Dramatists
- Literature and Its Times [Supl 1, Part 2]
- Major Modern Dramatists [vol 1]
- Masterplots [vol 5]
- McGraw Encyclopedia of World Drama [vols 1, 5]
- Modern American Literature [vol 3]
- The Oxford Dictionary of Plays
- Southern Writers: A Biographical Dictionary
- Student Companion to Tennessee Williams
- Tennessee Williams: A Guide to Research and Performance
- Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
- [vol 118] locate the topical essay "Hollywood and Literature"
Books & Audio/Visual Materials
Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for:
library materials that provide biographical information about Tennessee Williams, as well criticism and interpretation of his work.
You might find the following eBooks useful for researching The Glass Menagerie. If
not on campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back
of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access these resources.
Research Guide to Theater
MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:
Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.
Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography