Skip to main content
Click on the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.
Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:
To further research historical context of literary works, use:
Use these databases to broaden your search:
Read or Search A Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, An American Slave at Google Books
Read or Search Other Online Editions
Full text of A Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, An American Slave is also available on the Web at:
Print copies are also available in Truxal Library.
Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about A Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, An American Slave. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.
- African-American Century
- African-American Culture and History [vol 2]
- African American Literature [vol 2]
- Afro-American Encyclopedia [vol 3]
- American Writers [supl 3, part 1]
- A Bibliography of the Negro in Africa and America Blacks in America
- Black Literature Criticism (BLC) [vol 1]
- Critical Insights: The Slave Narrative
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
- Fifty Southern Writers Before 1900
- Glory Days: 365 Inspired Moments in African-American History
- Masterpieces of African-American Literature
- Masterplots II: African American Literature [vol 2]
- Modern Black Writers
- Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (NCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
- [vols 7, 55, 141] - look for Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
- [vol 20] - locate the topical essay "American Slave Narratives"
- [vol 44] - locate the topical essay "American Abolitionism"
- [vol 112] - locate the topical essay "Literature of the Antebellum South"
- [vol 140] - locate the topical essay "Ecocriticism and Nineteenth-Century Literature"
- [vol 184] - locate the topical essay "The American Literary Renaissance"
- Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
- [vol 86] - locate the topical essay "American Autobiography"
- [vol 138] - locate the topical essay "Racism in Literature"
- [vol 210] - locate the topical essay "Civil Rights Literature"
Books & Audio/Visual Materials
Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for either:
Slaves' writings, American
Slavery in literature
Antislavery movements--United States
You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about Frederick Douglass, as well criticism and interpretation of his work.
You might find the following eBooks useful for researching A Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass. If not on campus, you
will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo
ID or Truxal Library card to access these resources.
MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:
Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.
Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography