Skip to main content

Frankenstein (1818): Library Resources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching Mary Shelley's Frankenstein

Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.

Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:     

To further research historical context of literary works, use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

Searching for Full Text

NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or refdesk@aacc.edu.

Read or Search Shelley's Frankenstein Online

Full text of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein is available on the Web at:

Print copies are also available in Truxal Library.

Reference Material

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Frankenstein. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

  • British Authors of the Nineteenth Century
  • British Women Writers
  • British Writers [vol 3]
  • A Companion to Science Fiction
  • Critical Survey of Long Fiction [vol 6]
  • The Critical Temper: A Survey of Modern Criticism on English and American Literature from the Beginnings to the Twentieth Century [vol 4]
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 2]
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 1]
  • Cyclopedia of World Authors[vol 3]
  • The Handbook to Gothic Literature
  • The Library of Literary Criticism [vol 5]
  • Literature and Its Times [vol 1]
  • Man, Myth and Magic: The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mythology, Religion, and the Unknown [vols 4, 5, 9,]
  • Masterplots [vol 4]
  • Masterplots II: Women's Literature Series [vol 2]
  • Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (NCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
    • [vols 14, 59, 103, 170] - check under Frankenstein in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
    • [vol 24] - locate the topical essay "Nineteeth-Century Science Fiction"
    • [vol 28] - locate the topical essay "The Gothic Novel"
    • [vol 32] - locate the topical essay "Supernatural Fiction in the Nineteeth Century"
    • [vol 40] - locate the topical essays "The Double in Nineteenth-Century Literature" and "The French Revolution and English Literature"
    • [vol 56] - locate the topical essays "Colonialism in Victorian English Literature" and "The Industrial Revolution in Literature"
    • [vol 64] - locate the topical essay "Hysteria in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
    • [vol 92] - locate the topical essay "Incest in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
    • [vol 96] - locate the topical essay "Orientalism"
    • [vol 108] - locate the topical essay "Food in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
    • [vol 176] - locate the topical essay "Motherhood in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
    • [vol 180] - locate the topical essay "Homosexuality in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
    • [vol 184] - locate the topical essay "Overpopulation in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
    • [vol 192] - locate the topical essays "The Double in Nineteenth-Century Literature" and "Calvinism in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
    • [vol 196] - locate the topical essay "Friendship in Nineteeth-Century Literature"
    • [vol 200] - locate the topical essay "Nineteenth-Century Science Fiction"
  • Novels for Students [vol 1]
  • The Penguin Encyclopedia of Horror and the Supernatural
  • Twentieth-Century Literature Criticism (TCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
    • [vol 46] - locate the topical essay "The Vampire in Literature"
    • [vol 70] - locate the topical essay "Popular Literature"
    • [vol 74] - locate the topical essay "Fear in Literature"
    • [vol 202] - locate the topical essay "Gothic Literature"
  • World Literature and Its Times [vol 3]

Books & Audio/Visual Materials

Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for either:

  • Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft
  • Frankenstein

You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about Mary Shelley, as well criticism and interpretation of her work.

eBook Spotlight

You might find the following eBooks useful for researching Frankenstein.  If not on campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access these resources.

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

NEW RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography