Skip to main content

Fathers and Sons (1862): Library Reources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching Ivan Turgenev's Fathers and Sons

Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.

Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:     

To further research historical context of literary works, use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

Searching for Full Text

NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or refdesk@aacc.edu.

Alternate Titles

Please note that Fathers and Sons may be listed by its original Russian title, Ottsy i Deti, or by an alternate English title, Fathers and Children

Read or Search Turgenev's Fathers and Sons Online

Full text of Turgenev's Fathers and Sons is available on the Web at:

Print copies are also available in Truxal Library.

Reference Materials

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Turgenev's Fathers and Sons. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

  • Critical Survey of Long Fiction [vol 7]
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 2]
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 1]
  • Cyclopedia of World Authors [vol 3]
  • European Writers [vol 6]
  • Literature and Its Times [supl 1, part 1]
  • Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (NCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
    • [vols 21, 37, 122] - check under Ottsy i deti in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
    • [vol 28] - locate the topical essay "Russian Nihilism"
  • Masterplots [vol 4]
  • Novels for Students [vol 16]
  • Social Protest Literature

Books & Audio/Visual Materials

Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for:

  • Turgenev, Ivan

You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about Ivan Turgenev, as well criticism and interpretation of his work.

eBook Spotlight

You might find the following eBooks useful for researching Fathers and SonsIf not on campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access these resources.

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

NEW RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography