Skip to main content
Click on the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.
Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:
To further research historical context of literary works, use:
Use these databases to broaden your search:
Read or Search Stoker's Dracula Online
Full text of Bram Stoker's Dracula is available on the Web at:
Print copies are also available in Truxal Library.
Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Stoker's Dracula. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.
- British Writers [vol 3]
- A Companion to Science Fiction
- A Companion to Victorian Literature and Culture
- Critical Survey of Long Fiction
- Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 1]
- Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 1]
- Cyclopedia of World Authors [vol 3]
- Death and the Afterlife: A Cultural Encyclopedia
- Edwardian and Georgian Fiction
- Handbook of Gothic Literature
- Literature and Its Times [supl 1, part 1]
- Man, Myth and Magic: The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mythology, Religion, and the Unknown [vols 3, 11]
- Masterplots [vol 3]
- Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (NCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
- [vol 32] - locate the topical essay "Supernatural Fiction in the Nineteenth Century"
- [vol 156] - locate the topical essay "The New Woman in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
- Novels for Students [vol 18]
- Penguin Encyclopedia of Horror and the Supernatural
- Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
- [vols 8, 144] - find Dracula in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
- [vol 46] - locate the topical essay "Vampires in Literature"
- [vol 50] - locate the topical essay "Occultism in Modern Literature"
- World Literature and Its Times [vol 4]
Books & Audio/Visual Materials
Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for either:
- Stoker, Bram
- Vampires in Literature
library materials that provide biographical information about Bram Stoker, as well criticism and interpretation of his work.
You might find the following eBooks useful for researching Dracula. If
not on campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back
of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access these resources.
MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:
Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.
Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography