Skip to main content
Click on the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.
Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:
To further research historical context of literary works, use:
Use these databases to broaden your search:
Please note that Henrik Ibsen's A Doll's House may be listed as A Doll House, A Dollhouse, The Doll's House, or by its original Norwegian title, Et dukkehjem.
Read or Search A Doll's House at Google Books
Read or Search Other Online Editions
Full text of A Doll's House is also available on the Web at:
Print copies are also available in Truxal Library.
Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about A Doll's House. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.
- Contemporary Authors [vol 141]
- Critical Survey of Drama [vol 4]
- The Crown Guide to the World's Great Plays
- Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 2]
- Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 1]
- Cyclopedia of World Authors [vol 2]
- Drama Criticism [vol 2]
- Drama for Students [vol 1]
- European Writers [vol 7]
- An Ibsen Companion: A Dictionary-Guide to the Life, Works, and Critical Reception of Henrik Ibsen
- Literature and Its Times [vol 2]
- Major Modern Dramatists [vol 2]
- Masterplots [vol 3]
- McGraw Encyclopedia of World Drama [vol 3]
- Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
- [vol 44] - locate the topical essay "Dramatic Realism"
- [vol 156] - locate the topical essay "The New Woman in Nineteenth-Century Literature"
- The Oxford Dictionary of Plays
- Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
- [vols 2, 8, 16, 37, 52] - look for dukkehjem, et in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
Books & Audio/Visual Materials
Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for:
library materials that provide biographical information about Henrik Ibsen, as well criticism and interpretation of Ibsen's work.
You might find the following eBooks useful for researching A Doll's House. If not on campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access these resources.
Research Guide to Theater
MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:
Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.
Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography