Skip to main content
Click on the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.
Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:
To further research historical context of literary works, use:
Use these databases to broaden your search:
Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Death of a Salesman. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.
- American Diversity, American Identity: The Lives and Works of 145 Writers Who Define the American Experience
- American Writers [vol 3]
- American Writers since 1900
- Arthur Miller's Death of a Salesman
- Contemporary Dramatists
- Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
- [vols 1, 2, 6, 10, 15, 47, 78, 179] - look for Death of a Salesman in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
- Critical Companion to Arthur Miller: A Literary Reference to His Life and Works
- Survey of Drama [vol 5, 7]
- Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 1]
- Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 1]
- Cyclopedia of World Authors [vol 2]
- Death of a Salesman
- Drama Criticism [vol 1]
- Drama for Students [vol 1, 3]
- Dramatists and Drama
- Great Writers of the English Language - Dramatists
- Literature and Its Times 
- Major Modern Dramatists [vol 1]
- Masterplots [vol 3]
- McGraw Encyclopedia of World Drama [vols 3]
- Modern American Drama
- Modern American Literature [vol 2, 4, 5, 6]
- The Oxford Dictionary of Plays
- A Reader's Guide to Modern American Drama
- Student Companion to Arthur Milller
- Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in
books and journals;
- [vol 26] - locate the topical essay "The Businessman in American Literature"
- [vol 62] - locate the topical essay "Jewish-American Fiction"
- [vol 210] - locate the topical essay "The American Dream in Literature"
- Understanding Death of a Salesman: A Student Casebook to Issues, Sources, and Historical Documents
Books & Audio/Visual Materials
Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for:
library materials that provide biographical information about Arthur Miller, as well criticism and interpretation of Miller's works.
You might find the following eBooks useful for researching Death of a Salesman. If
not on campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back
of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access these resources.
Research Guide to Theater
MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:
Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.
Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography