Skip to main content

Research Guide to Criminal Justice & Homeland Security: Library Resources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching criminal justice and homeland security

Circulating Materials

To find books, audio/visual materials, or print periodicals on your topic, conduct a keyword or subject search in the Library Catalog.

Try synonyms and related terms:

prison   OR   correctional facility
terrorism   OR   insurrection
death penalty   OR   capital punishment

From the information you find in the Catalog, be sure to note:

  • the Location of the item in the Library Building 
  • the item's Call Number 
  • whether the item is available or has been checked out

To become more familiar with finding materials in the Library's print collection, here's a guide to using Library of Congress call numbers:

Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for articles from periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers, etc.) and for information from electronic books and multimedia resources. From off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card.

Criminal Justice Database
Hundreds of U.S. and international criminal justice periodicals

InfoTrac War & Terrorism Collection
News sources, magazines, journals, and reference books

Praeger Security International
Books and documents related to U.S. and international security

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Position papers, periodical articles, news reports, and much more

CQ Researcher 
Extensive reporting and analysis from Congressional Quarterly

National Newspapers and The Sun
Recent issues of the New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Baltimore Sun, and more

Ebook Central
Hundreds of ebooks in criminal justice and homeland security

EBSCO eBook Collection
Hundreds of ebooks in criminal justice and homeland security

Credo Reference
Titles like Dictionary of Policing, The 9/11 Encyclopedia, Dictionary of Prisons and Punishment, World of Criminal Justice, and more

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Titles include Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement, Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional Facilities, Sexual Crime,
and much more

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection
Reference titles like Policing in America, Global Organized Crime, U.S. Border Security, Encyclopedia of Terrorism, and more

Academic Video Online
Documentaries covering criminal justice and homeland security

Westlaw Next (ON CAMPUS ONLY)
Federal and state cases, statutes, regulations, and legislative materials, as well as encyclopedias, law reviews, guides, and more

NOT ENOUGH INFO? Try our multi-disciplinary databases:
Academic OneFile and Academic Search Premier

Have law-related questions?
Visit our Research Guide for Legal Resources

Searching for Full Text

NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or refdesk@aacc.edu.

Print Reference Materials

Find these materials in the Reference Section of Truxal Library:

  • Atlas of Crime: Mapping the Criminal Landscape  (Ref) HV6783 .A85 2000
  • Branding Terror: The Logotypes and Iconography of Insurgent Groups and Terrorist Organizations  (Ref) NC1002 .L63 B45 2013
  • Companion to the United States Constitution and Its Amendments (Ref) KF4550 .V55 2010
  • Corporate Crime (Ref) HV6768 .H37 2008
  • The Criminal Justice System  (Ref) KF9217 .C75 2017
  • Dictionary of Criminal Justice  (Ref) HV7411 .R87 2000
  • ​Digital Evidence and Computer Crime: Forensic Science, Computers, and the Internet  (Ref) HV8079 .C65 C35 2011
  • Domestic Violence: A Reference Handbook  (Ref) HQ809.3 .U5 M385 2008
  • Encyclopedia of American Prisons  (Ref) HV9471 .S54 2003
  • Encyclopedia of Crime Scene Investigation  (Ref) HV8073 .N49 2008
  • Encyclopedia of Domestic Violence  (Ref) HV6626 .E534 2007
  • Encyclopedia of International Organized Crime  (Ref) HV6441 .D48 2005
  • Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement  (Ref) HV7921 .E53 2005
  • Encyclopedia of Organized Crime in the United States  (Ref) HV 6446 .K43 2000
  • Encyclopedia of Police Science  (Ref) HV7901 .E53 2007
  • Encyclopedia of Serial Killers  (Ref) HV6245 .N49 2006
  • Encyclopedia of Terrorism  (Ref) HV6431 .C65 2002
  • Encyclopedia of White-Collar Crime  (Ref) HV6768 .E65 2007
  • The Facts on File Dictionary of Forensic Science  (Ref) HV8073 .B426 2004
  • Famous American Crimes and Trials  (Ref) HV9950 .F36 2004
  • Federal Criminal Code and Rules  (Ref) KF9606 .D567 2017
  • Federal Prison Guidebook  (Ref) HV9463 .E45 2005
  • Forensic Science  (Ref) HV8073 .F5837 2015
  • Forensic Science: An Encyclopedia of History, Methods, and Techniques  (Ref) HV8073 .T55 2006 
  • Forensic Science: An Introduction to Scientific Investigative Techniques  (Ref) HV8073 .F5835 2005
  • Forensic Science Handbook  (Ref) HV8073 .F585 2002
  • Fundamentals of Forensic Science  (Ref) HV8073 .H77 2006
  • Global Organized Crime  (Ref) HV6641 .R678 2010
  • Guide to Forensic Accounting Investigation   (Ref) HV8079 .F7 G84 2011
  • Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court  (Ref) KF8742 .W567 2010
  • Gun Control   (Ref) HV7436 .V35 2012
  • Guns in American Society: An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture, and the Law  (Ref) HV7436 .G8783 2012
  • Handbook of Digital Forensics and Investigation  (Ref) HV8079 .C65 H36 2010
  • Handbook on Sexual Violence  (Ref) HV6556 .H38 2012
  • Hate Crimes: A Reference Handbook  (Ref) HV6773.52 .A47 2005
  • Historical Atlas of American Crime  (Ref) HV6779 .R67 2005
  • Homeland Security: A Documentary History  (Ref) UA927 .H657 2004
  • Illicit Drugs  (Ref) HV5801 .I674 2011
  • Illicit Trafficking: A Reference Handbook  (Ref) HV6252 .K45 2005
  • Immigration Law and Procedure in a Nutshell  (Ref) KF7819.85 .W45 2011
  • Juvenile Crime  (Ref) HV9104 .F448 2010
  • Juvenile Justice: A Reference Handbook  (Ref) HV9104 .S448 2016
  • Landmark Supreme Court Cases  (Ref) KF8742 .H37 2012
  • Management and Supervision in Law Enforcement  (Ref) HV7936 .P47 B47 2012
  • Maryland Evidence Handbook  (Ref) KFM1740 .M87 2010
  • Maryland Rules of Evidence  (Ref) KFM170 .M37
  • Modern Criminal Procedure: Cases, Comments, and Questions  (Ref) KF9618 .K36 2005
  • Murder Cases of the Twentieth Century: Biographies and Bibliographies of 280 Convicted or Accused Killers  (Ref) HV6245 .F74 1996
  • NOLO's Encyclopedia of Everyday Law  (Ref) KF387 .N65 2011
  • Oxford Handbook of National Security Intelligence  (Ref) JF1525 .I6 O97 2010 
  • The Oxford History of the Prison: The Practice of Punishment in Western Society  (Ref) HV8501 .O94 1995
  • PDR Guide to Terrorism Response   (Ref) RA645.5 .B289 2005
  • Penology  (Ref) HV8665 .S27 2008
  • Policing in America: A Reference Handbook  (Ref) HV8133 .S84 2008
  • Prisons  (Ref) HV9471 .F465 2011
  • Privacy Rights in the Digital Age  (Ref) KF1263 .C65 P75 2015
  • Profiling and Criminal Justice in America: A Reference Handbook  (Ref) HV9950 .B86 2004
  • Psycho USA: Famous American Killers You Never Heard Of   (Ref) HV6785 .S345 2012
  • The Psychology of Hate Crimes as Domestic Terrorism: U.S. and Global Issues  (Ref) HV6773.5 .P79 2017
  • Punishment in America  (Ref) HV9466 .B35 2005
  • Reform and Retribution: An Illustrated History of American Prisons  (Ref) HV9466 .R6 1996
  • Routledge International Handbook of Social Justice  (Ref) HM671 .R68 2014
  • Sage Dictionary of Policing  (Ref) HV7901 .S24 2009
  • Sage Encyclopedia of Terrorism  (Ref) HV6431 .K883 2011
  • Sentencing  (Ref) KF9685 .C48 2008
  • Short Guide to Writing about Criminal Justice  (Ref) HV6024.5 .P55 2011
  • State of Maryland Uniform Crime Reports  (Ref) HV6793.M3 S74
  • Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Crime and Criminology  (Ref) HV9950 .T35 2017
  • Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Legal Issues  (Ref) KF385 .A4 T33 2016
  • Terrorism  (Ref) HV6431 .H43 2001
  • Terrorism: Assassins to Zealots  (Ref) HV6431 .A538 2003
  • Terrorism: A Documentary History  (Ref) HV6431 .A538 2003
  • Terrorism in the 21st Century  (Ref) HV6431 .C6472 2003
  • The Torture Papers: The Road to Abu Ghraib  (Ref) DS79.76 .T676 2005 
  • Uniform Crime Reports for the United States  (Ref) HV6787 .A3
  • U.S. Border Security: A Reference Handbook  (Ref) HV8139 .W37 2010
  • U.S. Homeland Security: A Reference Handbook  (Ref) HV6432.4 .B35 2005
  • Violence Against Girls and Women: International Perspectives  (Ref) HV6250.4 .G57 V558 2013
  • Violence Against Women in Families and Relationships  (Ref) HV6626 .V56 2009
  •  War Crimes and Justice: A Reference Handbook  (Ref) K5301 .B35 2002 
  • Women in Prison: A Reference Handbook  (Ref) HV9471 .B365 2003

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

NEWEST RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change over time, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the newest rules.

eBook Spotlight: Organized Crime

You might find the following eBooks useful when starting research on organized crime. You will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access these resources from off-campus.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography