Articles - MLABooks - MLAOnline Resources - MLAOther Resources - MLA
Articles - APABooks - APAOnline Resources - APAOther Resources - APA
Annotated BibliographiesCitation Styles
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Citation Guide  Tags: citing citations mla apa  

A guide to creating citations for bibliographies and works cited pages
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.aacc.edu/citationguide  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Other Resources - APA             Print Page
  
 

Other Helpful Websites

Many of these sites offer information about constructing in-text citations, as well as constructing citations for bibliographies and references pages: 

 
 

NEW RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. 

If you use a citation generator from a database or website, doublecheck, using this guide, to be sure the generator has used the current rules.

 

Please Note

Citations should be double-spaced in an actual Bibliography, Works Cited, or References list, and works should be ordered alphabetically by author.
 

Citing Other Resources - APA

Government reports
Department, office, agency, or institute that produced the report. If not well known, precede with the higher organization(s). (Year). Title of report (Report number, if available). Place of publication: Publisher.

U.S. Department of Justice. Bureau of Justice Statistics. (1995). Correctional populations of the United States, 1992 (NCJ 146413). Washington, DC: Government Printing Office.

Personal communications (conversations, interviews, letters, emails, etc.)
Personal communications, because they are difficult to recover, are not listed in bibliographies and works cited pages; instead, they are cited in-text only, for example:

(J. Binny, personal communication, March 28, 2008)

Film or video recordings
Producer name(s) (Producer(s)), & Director name (Director). (Year of release). Title [Medium (Motion picture, DVD, Videocassette, etc.)]. Country of origin: Studio or distributor.

Farret, K. (Producer), & Soma, S. (Director). (2009). The mum [Motion picture]. United States: Wyatt Pictures.

Miller, K. P., & Gilchrist, C. L. (Producers), & Miller, K. P. (Director). (2008). Generation Rx [DVD]. Canada: Common Radius Films.

Episodes from television series
Script writer’s name (Writer), & Director’s name (Director). (Broadcast date or copyright). Episode title [Television series episode]. In Producer’s name (Producer), Series title. City, state of origin: station or network.

Yoshimura, J. (Writer), & Fleder, G. (Director). (1997, December 5). The subway [Television series episode]. In B. Levinson (Producer), Homicide: Life on the Streets. New York, NY: National Broadcasting Company.

Radio program segments or episodes
Primary contributor’s name (Role). (Broadcast date or copyright). Episode/segment title. In Producer's Name (Producer), Series title [Radio program]. City, state of origin: station.

Gladstone, B. (Host and managing editor). (2004, May 24). Gender detector. In J. Keefe (Producer), On the media [Radio program]. New York, NY: WNYC.

Songs
Writer. (Copyright date). Title of song [Recorded by Artist (if not the writer)]. On Title of album [Medium of recording (CD, LP, Audio file, etc.)]. Location: Label. (Recording date if different from copyright)

Smalls, B. (1997). Mo money mo problems. On Life after Death [Audio file]. New York, NY: Bad Boy Records.

Dylan, B. (1975).  Tangled up in blue [Recorded by The Indigo Girls]. On 1200 curfews [CD]. New York, NY: Sony. (1995)

 

Citing Online Audio/Visual Materials - APA

Images and other visuals from Library Databases

(Cite as you would an image from a book, though without page numbers if none are given, and omitting publisher’s name and location). doi: (when given) or Retrieved from Database Home Page URL

Clark, L. (c.a. 1960's). Man with baby [photograph]. George Eastman House, Rochester, NY. Retrieved from http://www.artstor.org

Greenhouse gasses [diagram]. In R. Kovach and B. McGuire, Guide to global hazards. Retrieved from http://www.credoreference.com

Artwork from the web
Creator (last name, first initial). (Year of artwork). Title of Artwork [medium of artwork]. Repository of artwork, city, state (if necessary). Retrieved from URL

Close, C. (2002). Ronald [photograph]. Museum of Modern Art, New York, NY. Retrieved from http://www.moma.org/collection/object.php?object_id=108890

Lectures and video posts from websites
Lecturer or poster's Name. (Copyright or posted date). Title of lecture of video [Video file]. Retrieved from URL

Seligman, M. (2004, February). Martin Seligman on positive psychology [Video file]. Retrieved from http://www..ted.com/talks/lang/eng/martin_seligman

Day, J. (2009, August 1). Tips and tricks for the special education classroom [Video file]. Retrieved from http://youtube.com/watch?v=Vra84LKESfs

Radio and TV episodes/segments from Library Databases
(Cite as you would broadcast episodes/segements). Retrieved from Database Home Page URL

DeFord, F. (Writer). (2007, August 8). Beyond Vick: Animal cruelty for sport. In E. McDonnell (Producer), Morning Edition [Radio program]. Retrieved from http://www.gale.cengage.com/AcademicOneFile

Radio and TV episodes/segments from websites
(Cite as you would
broadcast episodes/segements). Retrieved from URL

Espenson, J. (Writer), & Little, D. (Director). (2009, May 1). Briar rose [Video file]. In J. Whedon (Producer), Dollhouse [Television program]. Retireved from http://www.hulu.com/watch/71001/dollhouse-briar-rose#s-p1-so-i0

Ashbrook, T. (Host and managing editor). (2009, August 25). A family off the grid [Audio file]. In On point [Radio program]. Retrieved from http://www.onpointradio.org/2009/08/a-family-off-the-grid

Film and film clips from Library Databases
Producer name(s) (Producer(s)), & Director name (Director). (Year of release). Title [Video file]. Retrieved from Database Home Page URL

Barry, D. (Producer & Director). (2003). Taste [Video file]. Retrieved from http://www.fmgondemand.com

Film and film clips from websites
Name of Producer (Producer), & Name of Director (Director) (if given). (Copyright or posted date). Title of film or clip [Video file]. Retrieved from URL

Ferrell, W. (Producer). (2007). The landlord [Video file]. Retrieved from http://www.funnyordie.com/videos/74 

Kaufman, J. C. (Producer), Lacy, L. (Director). (1979). Mean Joe Greene [Video file]. Retrieved from http://memory.loc.gov/mbrs/ccmp/meanjoe_01g.ram

 
 

Research Assistance

If we can further assist you in your search for information, please drop by the reference desk or contact reference staff by phone at 410-777-2456 or by email at refdesk@aacc.edu.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait