Other Helpful Websites
Many of these sites offer information about constructing in-text citations, as well as constructing citations for bibliographies and references pages:
- The OWL - APA Style Guide
- The University of Baltimore - Citing Sources, APA Style
Periodical Info - APA
Names
- If the first element of a citation, display the last name first, followed by first name initial and middle initial, if given
- Separate names with a comma; use an ampersand (&) before the last author
- If no author is given, article title appears first, then date
Dates
- Do not abbreviate month names
- Daily periodicals: (year, month day)
- Monthly or quarterly periodicals: (year, month or season)
- Use (n.d.) if no date is provided
Titles
- Article titles and subtitles: capitalize the first word and proper nouns
- Publication titles: capitalize all words except articles and prepositions
Issue Numbers
- Include issue number, if paginated by issue
Page numbers
- Newspapers: use p. for one page, pp. for two or more pages
- Magazines and journals: do not use p. or pp. before page numbers
DOI's
- If given, include the DOI
Electronic Info - APA
- When available, use a DOI (digital object identifier) rather than a database name or URL; look for a DOI at the beginning or end of a online document
- A DOI is not the same as a document number or document ID, though; for more information about what a DOI is and should look like, see the DOI website.
Dates
- As long as the online information is unlikely to change (like articles in Library Databases, or any works previously or simultaneously published in print), a retrieval date is no longer necessary in the citation
- Use (n.d.) if no date is given for publication or copyright
URL's
- URL's, when cited, should not be underlined
NEW RULES
MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed
electronically.
If you use a citation generator from a database or website, doublecheck, using this guide, to be sure the generator has used the current rules.
Please Note
Citing Articles from Print Journals, Magazines, Newspapers - APA
Articles in journals
Author's name. (Date). Title of article. Title of journal, volume number(issue number, if available), page number(s). doi: (when given)
Fones, R. N. (2007). Attracting stupidity. C Street Review, 30(2), 6-10. doi: 10.1020/0825-8124.561.6.2007
Watson, J. D., & Crick, F. H. (1953). A structure for deoxyribose nucleic acid. Nature, 171, 737-738.
Articles in magazines
Author's name. (year, month or month range or season or month and day). Title of article. Title of magazine, volume number(issue number, when applicable), page number(s). doi: (when given)
Gerry, R. (1997, April-June). Tempo training for freestyle. Swimming Technique, 34(1), 40-42.
Rehder, B. (2007, September 17). Pure muscle and all heart: Ezzy, a doting Pit bull. Newsweek, 150(2), 19.
Articles in daily newspapers
Author's name. (year, month day). Title of article. Title of newspaper, p. or pp. page(s). doi: (when given)
Munsey, C., & Shuey, P. J. (1997, May 8). Bomb threats to become felony. The Capital, pp. A1, A6.
Unsigned articles in newspapers
Title of
article. (Year, month day). Title of newspaper, p. or pp. page(s). doi: (when given)
Haley charged. (2009, June 1). Springfield Post, p. A1, A10.
Editorials and letters to Editors of newspapers
Author's name. (year, month day). Title of article [Editorial or Letter to the Editor]. Title of Newspaper, p. or pp. page(s). doi: (when given)
Beckman, A. (2008, January 15). Why state songbirds matter [Letter to the Editor]. The Sun, p. D10.
Book and film reviews
Reviewer's name. (Date). Title of review (if any) [Review of the book/film Title, by author(s), editor(s), or producer(s), director(s), etc., year of release (if a film, DVD, video game, etc.). Title of periodical, volume(issue), pages(s).
Maslin, J. (1998, December 11). The causes [Review of the DVD Gang Context, produced by Police Now, 1998]. Reels, 8(4), 45.
Wrathall, J. (2009, February). [Review of the book Fires on Fire, by R. Maddox]. Soundings, 7(2), 57-59.
Citing Articles from Library Databases - APA
Periodical articles from Library Databases - doi assigned
(Cite as you would articles in print). doi:[doi]
(For more info about doi's, see left, "Electronic Info - APA")
Martin, J., & Tokada, K. (2007, December). Face recognition in chimpanzees. Behavioral Sciences Journal 21(4), 39-57. doi:10.1037/0735-7044.121.6.1145
Schwab, C., & Huber, L. (2006, August). Obey or not obey? Dogs (canis familiaris) behave differently in response to attentional states of their owners. Journal of Comparative Psychology, 120(3), 169-175. doi:10.1037/0735-7036.120.3.169
Periodical articles from Library Databases - doi unknown
(Cite as you would articles in print). Retrieved from Home Page URL of database*
Mattel sues publisher over Barbie essays. (1999, December 6). The New York Times, p. C18. Retrieved from http://www.gale.cengage.com/AcademicOneFile
Bishop, K. and Kimball, M. A. (2006, Fall). Engaging students in storytelling. Teacher Librarian 33(4), 28-31. Retrieved from http://www.proquest.com/en-US/catalogs/ databases/detail/ pq_ed_journals.shtml.
Cooper, M. H. (1996). America's pampered pets. CQ Researcher 6(48), 1129-1152. Retrieved from http://www.proquest.com/en-US/catalogs/ databases/detail/ pq_ed_journals.shtml
Moorman III, C. T., Lowe, W., & Clark, B. (2007, June) How can I treat shin splints? Natural Health 37(6), 26. Retrieved from http://www.jstor.org
*To the right is a list of Home Page URL's for AACC databases. If submitting work for publication (rather than for academic credit), you should use the home page URL of the magazine, newspaper, or journal, if one exists. For more help, visit this DOI and URL Flowchart provided by the APA.
Citing Periodical Websites - APA
Websites – periodicals
(Cite as you would articles in print, though without page numbers if none are given). doi: (when given) or Retrieved from Periodical Home Page URL
Muller, C. M. P., Brenner, E., & Smeets, J. B. J. (2009, August 24). Maybe they are all circles: Clues and cues. Journal of Vision, 9(9), 1-5. doi: 10.1167/9.9.10
Broad, W. J. (2009, August 25). Diving deep for living fossil.The New York Times. Retrieved from http://nyt.com
Websites – periodicals, online-only supplements
(Cite as you would articles in print, though without page numberes if
none are given, and including description in brackets after the supplement title, e.g., [Supplemental material], [Audio podcast], [Map], [Letter to the editor]. doi: (when given) or Retrieved from Periodical Home
Page URL
Tatum, D. (2008, April). Depression news [Supplemental material]. Psychiatric Notes, 8(4). Retrieved from http://www.psychiatricnotes.com
Research Assistance
If we can further assist you in your search for information, please drop by the reference desk or contact reference staff by phone at 410-777-2456 or by email at refdesk@aacc.edu.
Home Page URL's for Library Databases
Copy the URL's below when using APA style to cite sources from Truxal Library's databases. These URL's don't provide access to the databases, though. Use this link to access Library Databases.
ABC-CLIO:
http://www.ebooks.abc-clio.com
Academic OneFile: http://www.gale.cengage.com/AcademicOneFile
Academic Search Premier: http://www.ebscohost.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=1&topicID=1
Agricola: http://agricola.nal.usda.gov
American History in Video: http://alexanderstreet.com/products/ahiv.htm
ARTstor: http://www.artstor.org
Business & Company Resource Center: http://www.gale.cengage.com/BusinessRC
Business Source Premier: http://www.ebscohost.com/thisTopic.php?topicID=2&marketID=1
Capital Online: http://www.hometownannapolis.com
Contemporary Women's Issues: http://www.gale.cengage.com/servlet/ItemDetailServlet?region=9&imprint=000&titleCode=GAL68&type=4&id=173259
CQ Researcher: http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher
Credo Reference: http://credoreference.com
Criminal Justice Periodicals: http://www.proquest.com/en-US/catalogs/databases/detail/pq_criminal_justice.shtml
Culinary Arts Collection: http://www.gale.cengage.com/servlet/ItemDetailServlet?region=6&imprint=000&cf=n&titleCode=IACSB1&type=4&id=242836
Daily Life Online: http://dailylife.greenwood.com
Dance in Video: http://alexanderstreet.com/products/daiv.htm
Demongraphics Now!: http://www.demographicsnow.com
Ebrary: http://www.ebrary.com
ERIC: http://www.eric.ed.gov
FedStats: http://www.fedstats.gov
FindLaw: http://www.findlaw.com
FMG On Demand: http://www.fmgondemand.com
Gale Virtual Reference Library: http://www.gale.cengage.com/gvrl
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics: http://www.hbcpnetbase.com
Harrison's Online: http://www.accessmedicine.com
Health & Wellness Resource Center: http://www.gale.cengage.com/HealthRC
Health Source: Consumer Edition: http://www.ebscohost.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=1&topicID=82
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition: http://www.ebscohost.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=1&topicID=83
Historical Baltimore Sun: http://www.proquest.com/en-US/catalogs/databases/detail/baltimore_sun.shtml
Historical New York Times: http://www.proquest.com/en-US/catalogs/databases/detail/ny_times.shtml
Historical Washington Post: http://www.proquest.com/en-US/catalogs/databases/detail/washington_post.shtml
InfoTrac War and Terrorism Collection: http://www.gale.cengage.com/servlet/ItemDetailServlet?region=9&imprint=000&titleCode=IACSB6&cf=n&type=4&id=226264
JSTOR Arts & Sciences III Collection: http://www.jstor.org
Literature Criticism Online: http://www.gale.cengage.com/LitCritOnline
Literature Resource Center: http://www.gale.cengage.com/LitRC
MasterFILE Premier: http://www.ebscohost.com/thisTopic.php?topicID=5&marketID=6
Music Online: http://alexanderstreet.com/products/muso.htm
National Library of Medicine Databases: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/databases
National Newspapers and The Sun: http://www.proquest.com/en-US/catalogs/databases/detail/nationalsnews.shtml
Naxos Music Library: http://www.naxosmusiclibrary.com/home.asp
North American Theatre Online: http://asp6new.alexanderstreet.com/atho
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: http://www.gale.cengage.com/OpposingViewpoints
Oxford African American Studies Center: http://www.oxfordaasc.com
Oxford Art Online: http://www.oxfordartonline.com
Oxford Music Online: http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com
Praeger Security International: http://www.greenwood.com/psi
ProjectMUSE: http://muse.jhu.edu
ProQuest Education Journals: http://il.proquest.com/en-US/catalogs/databases/detail/pq_ed_journals.shtml
Salem Health: http://health.salempress.com
Small Business Resource Center: http://www.gale.cengage.com/SmallBusiness
Smithsonian Global Sound: http://www.smithsonianglobalsound.org
STAT!Ref Databases: http://www.statref.com
Testing & Education Reference Center: http://www.gale.cengage.com/Testing&Education
Theatre in Video: http://alexanderstreet.com/products/ativ.htm
Thomson Gale Legal Forms: http://www.gale.cengage.com/LegalForms
Westlaw Campus: http://campus.westlaw.com
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait