Other Helpful Websites
Many of these sites offer information about constructing in-text citations, as well as constructing citations for bibliographies and references pages:
- The OWL - APA Style Guide
- The University of Baltimore - Citing Sources, APA Style
Book Info - APA
Names
- If the first element of a citation, display the last name first, followed by first name initial and middle initial, if given
- Separate names with a comma; use an ampersand (&) before the last author
- Use Ed. for one editor, Eds. for multiple editors
- If no author is given, book title appears first, then date
Dates
- Use the year the book was published
- Use (n.d.) if no date is given
Titles
- Capitalize the first word and proper nouns
Places of Publication
- Include the city name and two letter state abbreviation
Page numbers
- Use p. for one page, pp. for two or more pages
DOI's
- If given, include the DOI
NEW RULES
MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed
electronically.
If you use a citation generator from a database or website, doublecheck, using this guide, to be sure the generator has used the current rules.
Please Note
Citing Printed Books - APA
Books by single authors
Author's name. (Year). Title of book. Place of publication: Publisher.
Chitty, D. (1996). Do lemmings commit suicide? New York, NY: Oxford University Press.
Books by two or more authors
Author's names. (Year). Title of book. Place of publication: Publisher.
Rosellini, G., & Worden, M. (1997). Of course you're angry: A guide to dealing with the emotions of substance abuse (Rev. ed.). Center City, MN: Hazelden.
Books with editor(s)
Editor name(s) followed by (Ed.) or (Eds.). (Year). Title of book. Place of publication: Publisher.
Moten, B., Elver, F., & Cuscher, J. (Eds.). (2005). Lives in context: Perspectives on the ecology of humans. Washington, DC: American Psychology Council.
Books by corporate authors
Corporate author. (Year). Title of book. Place of publication: Publisher (if the publisher is the author, list Author for the publisher).
Children's Expressions. (2008). From the future: Children speak about oppression. New York, NY: Author.
Books by unknown authors
Title of book. (Year). Place of publication: Publisher.
New York Public Library Business Desk Reference (Rev. ed). (1999). New York, NY: J. Wiley.
Editions other than the first
Author's name. (Year). Title of book (Description of edition or number of edition). Place of publication: Publisher.
Hoof, S. (2009). Making incredible presentations (New rev. ed.). Kansas City, MO: Andre and Meel.
Pasachoff, J. (1992). Field guide to the stars and planets (3rd ed.). Boston, MA: Houghton Mifflin.
Multivolume works
Author's name(s) or Editor's name(s) followed by (Ed.). (Year). Title of multivolume work (Vol. volume number/s). Place of publication: Publisher.
Mills, L. (1996). Architecture of the Old South (Vols. 1-2). Savannah, GA: Beehive Foundation.
Sections of books (chapters, introductions, etc.)
Author of section being cited. (Year). Title of section or description. In Author(s) or Ed(s). of book (first initial first), Title of book (pp. section pages). Place of publication: Publisher.
Jeffrey, I. (1988). Introduction. In B. Savelev, Secret city: photographs from the USSR (pp. 8-12). New York, NY: Thames and Hudson.
Works in anthologies
Author's name. (Year). Title of selection. In Editor’s name (Ed.), Title of anthology (Edition, Volume (if any), pp. page numbers of selection). Place of publication: Publisher.
Undin, J. (2008). Heart times. In M. Meyer (Ed.), Essays on hope (rev. ed., pp. 487-491). Boston: Martin Press.
Cage, J. (2001). Tribes of times. In R.Katz and B. Grandate (Eds.), Writings for the millenium (3rd ed., Vol. 1, p. 45). Chicago: St. Paul Press.
Works reprinted in anthologies
Author's name. (Year). Title of selection. In Editor’s name (Ed.), Title of anthology (Edition, Volume (if any), pp. page numbers of selection). Place of publication: Publisher. (Reprinted from Original Citation Information)
Mailer, N. (1992). Children of the Pied Piper. In T. Votteler (Ed.), Contemporary literary criticism (Vol. 71, pp. 152-157). Detroit: Gale. (Reprinted from Vanity Fair, 54(3), 154-161, 1991, March)
Stervant, G. (2005). Art history and its exclusions. In J. C. McIntire & D. F. Polinski (Eds.), Critical perspectives on art education (pp. 99-115). Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall. (Reprinted from Missing: Uncovering art, pp. 1-14, by F. N. White, Ed., 1975, New York, NY: Nova)
Entries from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books
Author's name (if applicable). (Year). Entry heading or title. In Editor name(s) (if any), Title of reference book (Edition, Volume (if any), p. or pp. page(s) of selection). Place of publication: Publisher.
Tavris, C. (1989). Queen bee syndrome. In B. Yark and G. Himmel (Eds.), Women’s encyclopedia (Vol. 1, p. 307). New York, NY: Greenward.
Eschatology. (1982). In Webster’s new world dictionary of the American language (2nd ed., p. 383). New York, NY: Simon and Schuster.
Airport security. (2002). In C. C. Combs, & M. Slann (Eds.), Encyclopedia of Terrorism (pp. 3-6). New York, NY: Facts on File.
Images and other visuals from books
Creator of image or artwork (if given). (Year of creation or publication). Title [medium] or [Description, including medium]. Repository of artwork, Location (if applicable). In Title of Book, Edition, Vol. volume (if any), p. or pp. page(s), by Author(s ) or Ed(s)., year, Publication place: Publisher.
Piccato, N. (1795). Fig tree [painting]. Museum of Historical Art, New York, NY. In Art with foliage, 2nd ed., p. 34, by F. Wye (Ed.), 2009, New York: NY: Nola.
[Human heart diagram]. (2007). In Coronary conditions, p. 5, by L. Hamby, 2006, New York, NY: Universe.
[Satellite photographs of light distributions in Maryland]. (2007). In Too light: The effects of light pollution. pp. 392-399, by M. Knight, 2008, New York, NY: Riley.
Citing eBooks from Library Databases - APA
eBooks from Library Databases
(Cite as you would books in print, though without page numbers if none are given, and omitting publisher's name and location). doi: (when given) or Retrieved from Database Home Page URL
Drum, D., & Zierenberg, T. (2006). The type II diabetes sourcebook (3rd ed.). doi: 10.1036/0071462317
Paludi, M. A. (2004). Praeger guide to the psychology of gender. Retrieved from http://www.ebooks.abc-clio.com
Prairie oysters. (2002). In Rawson's Dictionary of Euphemisms and Other Doubletalk. Retrieved from http://credoreference.com
*To the right is a list of Home Page URL's for AACC databases
Citing Websites, etc. - APA
Websites – sites, including eBooks
(Cite as you would books in print, though without page numbers if none are given, and omitting publisher's name and location). doi: (when given) or Retrieved from website or eBook Home Page URL
Peace, R. (2002, July 20). Fathers and children: Understanding nature. In The novels of Turgenev: Symbols and emblems. Retrieved from http://eis.bris.ac.uk/~rurap/novelsof.htm
Websites – online government publications
(Cite as you would printed sources). Retrieved from URL
U.S. Department of Justice. (2006, September 10). Trends in violent victimization by age, 1973-2005. Retrieved from http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/glance/vage.htm
Mailing lists (listservs)
Poster's name. (Date). Subject line [Electronic mailing list message]. Retrieved from URL
Stein, C. (2007, May 5). Re: Chessie rescue - Annapolis, MD [Electronic mailing list message]. Retrieved from http://www.chessie-l.com/920l
Research Assistance
If we can further assist you in your search for information, please drop by the reference desk or contact reference staff by phone at 410-777-2456 or by email at refdesk@aacc.edu.
Home Page URL's for Library Databases
Copy the URL's below when using APA style to cite sources from Truxal Library's databases. These URL's don't provide access to the databases, though. Use this link to access Library Databases.
ABC-CLIO:
http://www.ebooks.abc-clio.com
Academic OneFile: http://www.gale.cengage.com/AcademicOneFile
Academic Search Premier: http://www.ebscohost.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=1&topicID=1
Agricola: http://agricola.nal.usda.gov
American History in Video: http://alexanderstreet.com/products/ahiv.htm
ARTstor: http://www.artstor.org
Business & Company Resource Center: http://www.gale.cengage.com/BusinessRC
Business Source Premier: http://www.ebscohost.com/thisTopic.php?topicID=2&marketID=1
Capital Online: http://www.hometownannapolis.com
Contemporary Women's Issues: http://www.gale.cengage.com/servlet/ItemDetailServlet?region=9&imprint=000&titleCode=GAL68&type=4&id=173259
CQ Researcher: http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher
Credo Reference: http://credoreference.com
Criminal Justice Periodicals: http://www.proquest.com/en-US/catalogs/databases/detail/pq_criminal_justice.shtml
Culinary Arts Collection: http://www.gale.cengage.com/servlet/ItemDetailServlet?region=6&imprint=000&cf=n&titleCode=IACSB1&type=4&id=242836
Daily Life Online: http://dailylife.greenwood.com
Dance in Video: http://alexanderstreet.com/products/daiv.htm
Demongraphics Now!: http://www.demographicsnow.com
Ebrary: http://www.ebrary.com
ERIC: http://www.eric.ed.gov
FedStats: http://www.fedstats.gov
FindLaw: http://www.findlaw.com
FMG On Demand: http://www.fmgondemand.com
Gale Virtual Reference Library: http://www.gale.cengage.com/gvrl
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics: http://www.hbcpnetbase.com
Harrison's Online: http://www.accessmedicine.com
Health & Wellness Resource Center: http://www.gale.cengage.com/HealthRC
Health Source: Consumer Edition: http://www.ebscohost.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=1&topicID=82
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition: http://www.ebscohost.com/thisTopic.php?marketID=1&topicID=83
Historical Baltimore Sun: http://www.proquest.com/en-US/catalogs/databases/detail/baltimore_sun.shtml
Historical New York Times: http://www.proquest.com/en-US/catalogs/databases/detail/ny_times.shtml
Historical Washington Post: http://www.proquest.com/en-US/catalogs/databases/detail/washington_post.shtml
InfoTrac War and Terrorism Collection: http://www.gale.cengage.com/servlet/ItemDetailServlet?region=9&imprint=000&titleCode=IACSB6&cf=n&type=4&id=226264
JSTOR Arts & Sciences III Collection: http://www.jstor.org
Literature Criticism Online: http://www.gale.cengage.com/LitCritOnline
Literature Resource Center: http://www.gale.cengage.com/LitRC
MasterFILE Premier: http://www.ebscohost.com/thisTopic.php?topicID=5&marketID=6
Music Online: http://alexanderstreet.com/products/muso.htm
National Library of Medicine Databases: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/databases
National Newspapers and The Sun: http://www.proquest.com/en-US/catalogs/databases/detail/nationalsnews.shtml
Naxos Music Library: http://www.naxosmusiclibrary.com/home.asp
North American Theatre Online: http://asp6new.alexanderstreet.com/atho
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: http://www.gale.cengage.com/OpposingViewpoints
Oxford African American Studies Center: http://www.oxfordaasc.com
Oxford Art Online: http://www.oxfordartonline.com
Oxford Music Online: http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com
Praeger Security International: http://www.greenwood.com/psi
ProjectMUSE: http://muse.jhu.edu
ProQuest Education Journals: http://il.proquest.com/en-US/catalogs/databases/detail/pq_ed_journals.shtml
Salem Health: http://health.salempress.com
Small Business Resource Center: http://www.gale.cengage.com/SmallBusiness
Smithsonian Global Sound: http://www.smithsonianglobalsound.org
STAT!Ref Databases: http://www.statref.com
Testing & Education Reference Center: http://www.gale.cengage.com/Testing&Education
Theatre in Video: http://alexanderstreet.com/products/ativ.htm
Thomson Gale Legal Forms: http://www.gale.cengage.com/LegalForms
Westlaw Campus: http://campus.westlaw.com
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait