Other Helpful Websites
Many of these sites offer information about constructing in-text citations, as well as constructing citations for bibliographies and works cited pages:
- Ohio State - The OWL: MLA 2009 Formatting and Style Guide
- Cornell - Citation Management: MLA Style
- Duke - Citing Sources
- LaGuardia CC - MLA Documentation Style
NEW RULES
MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed
electronically.
If you use a citation generator from a database or website, doublecheck, using this guide, to be sure the generator has used the current rules.
Please Note
Citing Articles from Library Databases - MLA
Articles from Library Databases
(Cite as you would an article in print, followed by) Name of database. Web. Date of access (day month year).
Berthelsen, Christian. "Mattel Sues Publisher Over Barbie Essays." New York Times 6 Dec. 1999, late ed. (east coast): C18. National Newspapers. Web. 14 Apr. 2003.
Bishop, Kay, and Melanie A. Kimball. "Engaging Students in Storytelling." Teacher Librarian 33.4 (2006): 28. Academic OneFile. Web. 20 Oct. 2006.
Cooper, Mary H. "America's Pampered Pets." CQ Researcher 6.48 (1996): 1129-1152. CQ Researcher Online. Web. 6 Nov. 2000.
"Estate Planning for Fido and Fluffy…." Journal of Financial Planning 20.11 (2007): 14. Business Source Premier. Web. 15 January 2008.
Moorman III, C. T., Whitney Lowe, and Bryn Clark. "How Can I Treat Shin Splints?" Natural Health 37.6 (2007): 26. Health Source - Consumer Edition. Web. 15 January 2008.
Peters, Jonathan R. and Donald E. Stearns. "Bringing Educational Relevancy to the First-Year College Experience by Bearing Witness to Social Problems." The Journal of Experiential Education 25.3 (2003): 332-342. Education Journals. Web. 14 Aug. 2004.
Citing eBooks from Library Databases - MLA
eBooks from Library Databases
(Cite as you would a book in print, followed by) Name of database. Web. Date of access (day month year).
Bell, Millicent. Shakespeare’s Tragic Skepticism. New Haven, CT: Yale U P, 2002. Ebrary. Web. 2 May 2006.
Kaplan, Temma. "Human Rights for Women Are Receiving Greater Attention." Human Rights. Ed. Laura K. Egendorf. San Diego: Greenhaven Press, 2004. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center. Web. 6 Nov. 2006.
“Narcissistic Personality Disorder,” Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Washington, DC: APA, 2000. STAT!Ref. Teton Data Systems. Web. 15 Jan. 2008.
"Prairie oysters.” Rawson's Dictionary of Euphemisms and Other Doubletalk. 2002. Credo Reference. Web. 7 Oct. 2006.
Price, Joanna. "Bret Easton Ellis: Overview." Contemporary Novelists, 6th ed., Ed. Susan Windisch Brown. Detroit: St. James Press: 1996. Literature Resource Center. Web. 7 Jan. 2008.
Citing Websites, Email, etc. - MLA
Websites – text
Author's name (if any) (last name, first name). "Title of the Page or Part." (if applicable) Title of the site (if there is no title, use a description with no underlining, italicizing, or quotation marks). Name of any organization responsible for the site (Use N.p. if none is listed), date of publication (use n.d. if none is listed). Web. Date of access (day month year). Include the URL in brackets < > only if the site is not easily accessible through a web search.
"Cher." Biography.com. A&E Television, 2008. Web. 7 Feb. 2009.
Peace, Richard. “Fathers and Children: Understanding Nature.” The Novels of Turgenev: Symbols and Emblems. U of Bristol P, 20 July 2002. Web. 5 May 2005.
Adams, Randolph. "Librarians as Enemies of Books." The Electronic Text Center. Ed. David Seaman. University of Virginia, 1998. 7 Jan. 2000.
Websites – online government publications
If no author is listed, give name of the government first, followed by the name of the agency. Title of publication. Place of publication: Publisher, year. Web. Date of access (day month year). Web. Date of access (day month year).
United States. Dept. of Justice. Bureau of Justice Statistics. “Trends in Violent Victimization by Age, 1973-2005.” 10 Sept. 2006. Web. 3 Oct. 2006.
E-mails and discussion lists
Author's name (last name, first name). "Subject line." Message to Recipient’s name (first name first) or name of list. Date of message (day month year). E-mail.
Woodward, Julian. “Newborn FAQs.” Message to Michael Roberts. 28 Mar. 2008. E-mail.
Stein, Cindy. “Chessie Rescue - Annapolis MD." Message to Chessie-L listserv. 16 May 1997. E-mail.
Citing Online Audio/Visual Materials
Radio and TV episodes/segments from Library Databases:
"Title of episode or segment (if applicable)." Title of program or series. Name of network or station. Broadcast date. Title of database. Web. Date of access (day month year).
"Beyond Vick: Animal Cruelty for Sport." Morning Edition. NPR. 8 Aug. 2007. Academic OneFile. Web. 5 May 2008.
Radio and TV episodes/segments from websites:
"Title of episode or segment (if applicable)." Title of program or series. Name of network or station. Broadcast date. Web. Date of access (day month year).
"Federal Prosecutors Eye MySpace Bullying Case." All Things Considered. NPR. 14 Jan. 2008. Web. 15 Jan. 2008.
Films and film clips on the web:
"Title of segment (if applicable)." Title of film. Director of film (if known). Performers (if known). Distributor (if applicable), year of release. Title of website. Web. Date of access.
The Landlord. Perf. Will Ferrell and Adam McKay. 2007. Funny or Die. Web. 15 Jan. 2008.
Lectures, speeches, addresses, readings, and other web video presentations:
Speaker (last name, first name). “Title of
presentation.” Sponsoring organization, date of presentation. Web. Date of
access (day month year).
Bittman, Mark. “What’s Wrong with What We Eat.” TEDTalks, Dec. 2007. Web. 18 May 2009.
Artwork from Library Databases:
Creator (last name, first name). Title of Artwork. Year of artwork. Respository of artwork, city, state (if nececessary) Title of database. Web. Date of access (day month year).
Clark, Larry. Man with Baby. ca. 1960's. George Eastman House, Rochester, NY. ARTstor. Web. 15 Jan. 2008.
Artwork from the web:
Creator (last name, first name). Title of Artwork. Year of artwork. Repository of artwork, city, state (if necessary). Title of website. Web. Date of access (day month year).
Close, Chuck. Ronald. 2002. Museum of Modern Art, New York. MoMA. Web. 5 Jan. 2008.
Adams, Ansel. Catherine Natsuko Yamaguchi, Nurse. 1943. Prints and Photographs Div., Lib. of Cong. "Suffering Under a Great Injustice": Ansel Adams's Photographs of Japanese-American Internment at Manzanar. Web. 5 June 2008.
Research Assistance
If we can further assist you in your search for information, please drop by the reference desk or contact reference staff by phone at 410-777-2456 or by email at refdesk@aacc.edu.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait