Articles - MLABooks - MLAOnline Resources - MLAOther Resources - MLA
Articles - APABooks - APAOnline Resources - APAOther Resources - APA
Annotated BibliographiesCitation Styles
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Citation Guide  Tags: citing citations mla apa  

A guide to creating citations for bibliographies and works cited pages
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.aacc.edu/citationguide  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles - MLA             Print Page
  
 

Other Helpful Websites

Many of these sites offer information about constructing in-text citations, as well as constructing citations for bibliographies and works cited pages: 

 
 

NEW RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. 

If you use a citation generator from a database or website, doublecheck, using this guide, to be sure the generator has used the current rules.

 

Please Note

Citations should be double-spaced in an actual Bibliography, Works Cited, or References list, and works should be ordered alphabetically by author.
 

Citing Articles from Print Journals, Magazines, Newspapers - MLA

Articles in journals paginated by volume
Author (last name, first name - for the first author). "Title of article." Title of journal volume number (year): page number(s). Medium.

Watson, James and Francis Crick. "A Structure for Deoxyribose Nucleic Acid." Nature 171 (1953): 937. Print.

Articles in journals paginated by issue
Author (last name, first name). "Title of article." Title of journal volume number.issue number (year): page number(s). Medium.

Jones, Howard Mumford. “The Attractions of Stupidity.” St. Croix Review 30.2 (1997): 6-10. Print.

Articles in weekly or biweekly magazines
Author (last name, first name). "Title of article." Title of magazine day month year: page number(s). Medium.

Jasper, William F. “Good Cop, Bad Cop: Alarming Expansion and Bad Police Work Define Today’s FBI.” New American 26 May 1997: 4-9. Print.

Articles in monthly or bimonthly magazines
Author (last name, first name). "Title of article." Title of magazine month year: page number(s). Medium.

Gerry, Ross. “Tempo Training for Freestyle.” Swimming Technique Apr.-Jun. 1997: 40-42. Print.

Unsigned articles in magazines
"Title of article." Title of magazine day month year: page number(s). Medium.

“The Guv'nor." Inside Soap 21 Jan. 2000: 12-13. Print.

Articles in daily newspapers
Author (last name, first name). "Title of article." Title of newspaper without introductory articles [City - if this is a local newspaper without the city name in its title] day month year, edition, section (if appropriate): page number(s). Medium.

Munsey, Christopher and P. J. Shuey. “Bomb Threats to Become Felony.” Capital [Annapolis] 8 May 1997: A1.

Schafer, Sarah. "Home Offices Get Hard Look." Washington Post 5 Jan. 2000, late ed.: E1+. Print.

Unsigned articles in newspapers
"Title of article." Title of newspaper [City, if not in the title] day month year, edition: page number(s). Medium.

"Hog Farmers Squabble Over Pork Promotion." The Sun [Baltimore] 5 Jan. 2000, Howard County ed.: 3C. Print.

Editorials in newspapers
Author (last name, first name). "Title of editorial." Editorial. Title of newspaper [City, if not in the title] day month year, edition: page number(s). Medium.

Krauthammer, Charles. “Why Feed a Mortal Enemy?” Editorial. Washington Post 25 Apr. 1997, late ed.: A27. Print.

Letters to the Editors of newspapers
Author (last name, first name). Letter. Title of Newspaper [City, if not in the title] day month year, edition: page number(s). Medium.

Beckman, Allyson. Letter. The Sun [Baltimore] 2 Nov. 2006, late ed.: D10. Print.

Reviews of books
Reviewer's name (last name, first name). "Title of Review (if available)." Rev. of Title of work reviewed, by Author's name (first name first). Title of periodical. Publication information of periodical: page number(s). Medium.

Eakin, Emily. “Uncovering an Interracial Literature of Love… and Racism.” Rev. of An Anthology of Interracial Literature: Black-White Contacts in the Old World and the New, ed. by Werner Sollors. New York Times 17 Apr. 2004: B9. Print.

Stone, John. "An Intimate Journal.”  Rev. of Running Late, by Dannie Abse. The Lancet 368.9538 (2006): 833. Print.

Reviews of films
Reviewer's name (last name, first name). "Title of Review (if any)." Rev. of Title of work reviewed, Director's name (first name first, prefaced with "dir."). Title of periodical Publication information of periodical: page number(s). Medium.

Wrathall, John. Rev. of That Thing You Do!, dir. Tom Hanks. Sight and Sound Feb. 1997: 57. Print.

Chang, Justin. "Brawny 'X-Men' Spawn." Review of X-Men Origins: Wolverine, dir Gavin Hood. Daily Variety 30 Apr. 2009: 1-2. Print.

 

Citing Articles from Library Databases - MLA

Articles from Library Databases
(Cite as you would an article in print, followed by) Name of database. Web. Date of access (day month year).

Berthelsen, Christian. "Mattel Sues Publisher Over Barbie Essays." New York Times 6 Dec. 1999, late ed. (east coast): C18. National Newspapers. Web. 14 Apr. 2003.

Bishop, Kay, and Melanie A. Kimball. "Engaging Students in Storytelling." Teacher Librarian 33.4 (2006): 28. Academic OneFile. Web. 20 Oct. 2006.

Cooper, Mary H. "America's Pampered Pets." CQ Researcher 6.48 (1996): 1129-1152. CQ Researcher Online. Web. 6 Nov. 2000.

"Estate Planning for Fido and Fluffy…." Journal of Financial Planning 20.11 (2007): 14. Business Source Premier. Web. 15 January 2008.

Moorman III, C. T., Whitney Lowe, and Bryn Clark. "How Can I Treat Shin Splints?" Natural Health 37.6 (2007): 26. Health Source - Consumer Edition. Web. 15 January 2008.

Peters, Jonathan R. and Donald E. Stearns. "Bringing Educational Relevancy to the First-Year College Experience by Bearing Witness to Social Problems." The Journal of Experiential Education 25.3 (2003): 332-342. Education Journals. Web. 14 Aug. 2004.

 
 

Research Assistance

If we can further assist you in your search for information, please drop by the reference desk or contact reference staff by phone at 410-777-2456 or by email at refdesk@aacc.edu.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait