Definitions
A bibliography is an organized list of citations.
A works cited (MLA style) or references (APA style) list presents citations for those sources referenced or cited in a particular paper, presentation, or other composition.
NEW RULES
MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed
electronically.
If you use a citation generator from a database or website, doublecheck, using this guide, to be sure the generator has used the current rules.
Annotating Citations
In an annotated bibliography, each citation is followed by a brief note—or annotation—that describes and/or evaluates the resource and the information found in it.
There are many ways to compose, organize, and present annotated citations, so always ask your instructor about content and format requirements for an assigned annotated bibliography.
In addition to standard citation information, when creating an annotated bibliography, gather and consider noting the following:
- Form (Is the material found in a book, eBook, website, periodical article, periodical article from a database, etc.?)
- Purpose (Does the material mean to inform, persuade, entertain, etc.?)
- Audience (Is it for the general public, people in a specific profession, scholars, etc.?)
- Authority (Is the author/publisher reliable?)
- Currency (Is the source up-to-date?)
- Coverage (Is the source comprehensive, an overview, show only one viewpoint, etc.?)
- Special features (Does the source contain charts, photos, maps, bibliographies, etc.?)
- Usefulness (Is this information useful to you in your research? How?)
Example
Presley, Elvis A. “My Life on the Run.” Fugitive Magazine. 29 July 2007: 4-9.
- From a weekly magazine that specializes in information about fugitives
- Meant to inform and amuse a general audience
- Published recently in a reputable trade magazine
- Documents Presley’s travels in North America since his “death”; includes tips on how to elude fans, maps of Presley’s travels, and photos of Presley posing in front of various Big Lots stores
- I can use this information in my paper and my presentation as one demonstration of our culture’s obsession with dead celebrities
Research Assistance
If we can further assist you in your search for information, please drop by the reference desk or contact reference staff by phone at 410-777-2456 or by email at refdesk@aacc.edu.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait