Library Databases
Click on the links below to search for periodical articles, biographical information, and criticism and interpretation. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card.
Use these databases initially:
- Literature Resource Center
- Literature Criticism Online
- ProjectMUSE
- JSTOR Arts and Sciences III Collection
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Ebrary
- ABC-CLIO Ebook Collection
Use this databases for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:
To further research cultures around the world, throughout history, use:
To further research historical context, you might use:
- Historical New York Times (1851-2002)
- Historical Washington Post (1877-1989)
- Historical Baltimore Sun (1837-1985)
Use these databases to broaden your search:
Searching for Full Text
NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?
- Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page,
which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.
For assistance, contact the reference desk via e-mail at refdesk@aacc.edu or by phone at 410-777-2456.
Reference Material
Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about David Guterson's Snow Falling on Cedars. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.
- Contemporary Authors [vol 132]
- Contemporary Authors, New Revision Series [vol 73]
- Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
- [vol 91] - check under Snow Falling on Cedars in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
- David Guterson's Snow Falling on Cedars: A Reader's Guide
- Novels for Students [vol 13]
- Understanding the Literature of World War II: A Student Casebook to Issues, Sources, and Historical Documents
Books & Audio/Visual Materials
Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for either:
- Guterson, David
- Japanese Americans--Evacuation and relocation, 1942-1945
You'll find library materials that provide information about Snow Falling on Cedars and Japanese internment during WWII.
Research Assistance
If we can further assist you in your search for information, please drop by the reference desk or contact reference staff by phone at 410-777-2456 or by email at refdesk@aacc.edu.
NEW RULES
MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:
Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.
eBook Spotlight
You might find the following eBooks useful for researching Snow Falling on Cedars. You will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card to access these resources from off-campus.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait