Skip to main content

Catch-22 (1961): Library Resources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching Joseph Heller's Catch-22

Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.

Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:     

To further research historical context of literary works, use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

Searching for Full Text

NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or refdesk@aacc.edu.

Reference Material

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Jospeh Heller's Catch-22. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

  • American Diversity, American Identity: The Lives and Works of 145 Writers Who Define the American Experience
  • American Writers [vol 3; supl 4, part 1]
  • Classic Cult Fiction: A Companion to Popular Cult Literature
  • Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
    • [vols 1, 3, 5, 8, 11, 36, 63] - look for Catch-22 in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
    • [vol 196] - locate the topical essay "Contemporary Black Humor"
  • Critical Survey of Long Fiction [vols 3, 8]
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 1]
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 1]
  • Cyclopedia of World Authors [vol 2]
  • Joseph Heller's Catch-22
  • Literature and Its Times [vol 4]
  • Masterplots [vol 2]
  • Notable American Novelists [vol 2]
  • Novels for Students [vol 1]
  • Survey of Contemporary Literature [vol 1]
  • Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism  (TCLC)- Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
    • [vol 54] - locate the topical essay "American Black Humor Fiction"
    • [vol 78] - locate the topical essay "Death in Literature"
    • [vol 90] - locate the topical essay "The City and Literature"
    • [vol 94] - locate the topical essay "Politics and Literature"
    • [vol 131] - locate the "Special Commissioned Essay on Catch-22 by Joseph Heller"
  • Understanding the Literature of World War II: A Student Casebook to Issues, Sources, and Historical Documents

Books & Audio/Visual Materials

Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for:

  • Heller, Joseph

You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about Joseph Heller as well criticism and interpretation of his work.

eBook Spotlight

You might find the following eBooks useful for researching Catch-22If not on campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access these resources.

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography