Skip to main content

Citation Guide: Articles - MLA

A guide to creating citations for bibliographies and works cited pages

Websites for MLA Style Citations

Many of these sites offer information about constructing in-text citations, as well as constructing citations for bibliographies and works cited lists: 

MLA Core Elements

MLA now recommends creating a citation for a source by presenting, in a particular order, at least nine core elements of information about the source. For more on these citation guidelines, review this handout:

For more detailed information, consult the authoritative source: 
MLA Handbook, 8th edition. 
Ask at the Reference Desk.

NEW RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change over time, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. This guide incorporates the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly.

If you use a citation generator from a database or website, doublecheck, using this guide, to be sure the generator has used the current rules.

Please Note

Citations should be double-spaced in an actual Bibliography, Works Cited, or References list, and works should be ordered alphabetically by author.

Citing Print and Online Periodicals - MLA

Article in a journal or magazine
Author (last name first), and additional Author's Name, if only one (first name first), or, if more than two, et al. "Title of Article." (If no author, start with "Title," and ignore initial articles when alphabetizing.) Title of Periodical, volume number (if any), issue number (if any), day month (or season) year, page(s). (If pages aren’t consecutive, use + after the first page number.). DOI (if provided).

Dawson, Ashley. “Edward Said’s Imaginative Geographies and the Struggle for Climate Justice.” College Literature, vol. 40, no. 4, Fall 2013, pp. 33-51.

Farrell, Graham, et. al. “Why the Crime Drop?” Crime and Justice, vol. 43, no. 1, Sept. 2014, pp. 421-90. Doi:10.1086/678081.

Greenberg, Arielle. “Revelatory and Complex: Innovative African-American Poetries.” The American Poetry Review, vol. 41, no. 1, Jan.-Feb. 2012, p. 9.

Kuehnert, Matthew J., and Jay S. Epstein. “Assuring Blood Safety and Availability: Zika Virus, the Latest Emerging Infectious Disease Battlefront.” Transfusion, vol. 56, no. 7, July 2016, pp. 1669-72. Doi:10.1111/trf.13673.

Article in a daily newspaper
Author (last name first). "Title of Article." (If no author, start with "Title," ignoring initial articles when alphabetizing.) Title of Newspaper [City – if not a national paper, unless it’s in the Title], edition (if any), day month year, page(s) (if pages aren’t consecutive, use + after the first page number).

“A Glam POTUS for Supergirl.The Washington Post, 23 June 2016, p. C2.

Zurawik, David. “David Simon Has Novel Ideas about ‘Wire.’” The Sun [Baltimore], 10 Sept. 2006, p. 1F.

Editorial or letter to the editor 
Include Editorial or Letter.

Lane, Charles. “The Logic and Benefits of Our Alliances.” Editorial. The Washington Post, 29 July 2016, p. A19. 

West, Emily. “We Are All Accountable.” Letter. Earth Island Journal, vol. 31, no. 2, Summer 2016, p. 3.

A review
If not specified in the article title, or if the review is untitled, include the title of the work being reviewed.

Alter, Alexandra. "Stage to Page: Harry Potter, with a Twist." Review of Harry Potter and the Cursed ChildThe New York Times, 30 July 2016, p. A1+. 

Nayman, Adam. Review of Hardcore HenrySight and Sound, vol. 26, no. 6, June 2016, p. 76.

Article in a special issue of a periodical
Include the Title of the Special Issue.

Eakin, Paul John. “Living Autobiographically.” Narrative Cinema as Autobiographical Act, a special issue of Biography, vol. 28, no. 1, Winter 2005, pp. 1-14. Doi:10.1353/bio.2005.0040.

Periodical article from an online database
Cite as you would in print, followed by Name of Database, DOI (if it has a DOI, it completes the citation). If no DOI, use a permalink when available, or its URL, without http://.

Kruse, Adam J. “Featherless Dinosaurs and the Hip-Hop Simulacrum.” Music Educators Journal, vol. 102, no. 4, June 2016, pp. 13-21. Academic Search Premier, doi:10.1177/0027432116638904.

Loos, Trent. “Way to a Dog Owner’s Heart.” Feedstuffs, 19 Mar. 2007, p. 9. Business Insights: Global, bi.galegroup.com/global/article/GALE%7CA168873274/33380a4505e4fe7de201e1eaae8b9a26?u=aacc_ref.

Schwartz, Alan. “A Plan to Curb Pill Abuse Falls Short at Pharmacies.” The New York Times, late ed. (east coast), 11 Oct. 2015, p. A18. National Newspapers, ezproxy.aacc.edu/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1721167030?accountid=40680.

Article a periodical website
Cite as you would in print, followed by a DOI (if it has a DOI, it completes the citation). If no DOI, use a permalink when available, or its URL, without http://.

Coates, Ta-Nehisi. “Nina Simone’s Face.” The Atlantic, 15 Mar. 2016, www.theatlantic.com/entertainment/archive/2016/03/nina-simone-face/472107.

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography