Research Guide to Health & Wellness: Library Resources

To find books, audio/visual materials, or print periodicals on your topic, conduct a keyword or subject search in the Library Catalog.

Try synonyms and related terms:

dislocation   OR   luxation
vertebral   OR   spinal
stroke   OR   "transient ischemic attack"

From the information you find in the Catalog, be sure to note:

• the Location of the item in the Library Building
• the item's Call Number
• whether the item is available or has been checked out

To become more familiar with finding materials in the Library's print collection, here's a guide to using Library of Congress call numbers:

The library has a collection of anatomical and chemistry models. Students with college ID cards or college library cards may check out these models at the circulation desk for use in the library. 

Click on the links below to search for articles from periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers, etc.) and for information from electronic books and multimedia resources. From off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card.

Health & Wellness Resource Center
Popular and scholarly periodicals, and access to reference books, multimedia resources, and more

Health Source: Consumer Edition
Periodical articles for consumers on healthcare topics 

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Scholarly journals in nursing, medicine, allied health, and more

Ovid
Articles from academic journals in nursing, medicine, nutrition, and more; includes access to ontents of Pub-Med Central, an open-access, full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature

SciVerse ScienceDirect
Articles from academic journals in healthcare and medicine

New England Journal of Medicine
Articles and multimedia from the Massachusetts Medical Society's weekly, peer-reviewed journal

SportDiscus
Scholarly and popular sports and fitness periodicals

Salem Press 
Salem Press’ reference works, including Magill’s Medical Guide

EBSCO eBook Collection
Includes thousands of titles related to health and wellness

Ebook Central
Includes a large selection of health and wellness ebooks

Credo Reference
Includes dozens of medical reference books

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Includes many medical reference books

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection
Includes a selection of health and wellness titles

Academic Video Online
Includes dozens of documentaries about health topics

NOT ENOUGH INFO?  Try our multi-disciplinary databases:
Academic Search Premier and Gale Academic OneFile

No full text available?
Have only an article's abstract or just a citation?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or truxal@aacc.libanswers.com.

Find these materials in the Reference section of the library:

DICTIONARIES and ENCYCLOPEDIAS

• Community & Family Health Issues: An Encyclopedia of Trends, Conditions & Treatments (Ref) RA418.5 .F3 C66 2017
• Dorland’s Illustrated Medical Dictionary (Ref) R121 .D73 2012
• Encyclopedia of Pharmaceutical Drugs (Ref) RM301.17 .C37 2012
• Infectious Diseases and Conditions (Ref) RC112 .I4577 2019 
• Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professions (Ref) R121 .M89 2013
• Oxford Encyclopedia of Stress, Health, and Coping  (Ref) RA785 .O94 2011
• Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing (Ref) R121 .S8 2012
• Taber’s Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary (Ref) R121 .T18 2017
• A Thesaurus of Medical Word Roots (Ref) R123 .D26 2013

GUIDES, HANDBOOKS, and MANUALS

• The 5-Minute Clinical Consult (Ref) RC55 .A12 2012
• ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription (Ref) RC684 .E9 A45 2010
• Alexander's Care of teh Patient in Surgery (Ref) RD99.24 .A44 2015
• Berry and Kohn's Operating Room Technique (Ref) RD32.3 .P48 2013
• Buck's 2020 ICD-10-CM for Physicians (Ref) RB115 .I49 2020
• Cambridge World History of Medical Ethics (Ref) R724 .C3274 2009
• Clinical Trials: What Patients and Healthy Volunteers Need to Know  (Ref) R853 .C55 S625 2010
• Conn’s Current Therapy (Ref) RM101 .C87 2016
• Control of Communicable Diseases Manual  (Ref) RA643 .C66 2015
• CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition  (Ref) QP141 .B523 2011
• Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests, with Nursing Implications (Ref) RB38.2 .V36 2019
• Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-V) (Ref Desk) RC45.2 .C4 D536 2013 
• Ferri's Clinical Advisor (Ref) RC55 .F47 2013
• Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology (Ref) QP34.5 .G345 2010
• Handbook of Health Behavior Change (Ref) RA776.9 .H36 2014 
• Health, United States [statistics] (Ref) RA407.3 .U57 2015
• ICD-10-CM  (Ref) RB115 .I49 2018
• The Johns Hopkins Manual of Gynecology and Obstetrics (Ref) RG110 .J64 2011
• Laboratory Medicine: The Diagnosis of Disease in the Clinical Laboratory (Ref) RB37 .L27523 2010
• Lippincott's Primary Care Orthopaedics (Ref) RD732 .L58 2014
• Magill's Medical Guide (Ref) RC41 .M34 2018 
• A Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests  (Ref) RB38.2 .M36 2015
• Merck Manual of Diagnosis & Therapy (Ref) RC55 .M4 2011 
• Merck Manual Home Health Handbook (Ref) RC81 .M535 2009
• Merrill's Atlas of Radiological Positioning and Procedures (Ref) RC78.4 .F736 2012
• Modern Nutrition in Health and Disease (Ref) QP141 .M64 2014 
• Mosby's Complementary and Alternative Medicine (Ref) R733 .F743 2009
• Mosby's Drug Guide for Nurses (Ref) RM301.12 .M57 2009
• Mosby’s Manual of Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference (Ref) RB38.2 .P337 2019
• Nursing Drug Handbook (Ref) RM301.12 .N87 2017
• Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice (Ref) RT85.5 .N87 2015
• Nutrition (Ref) RA84 .N88 2016
• Occupational and Environmental Health: Recognizing and Preventing Disease and Injury (Ref) RC963 .O22 2011
• Oxford Handbook of Clinical and Laboratory Investigation (Ref) RC55 .O96 2010
• Pathophysiology: The Biologic Basis for Disease in Adults and Children (Ref) RB113 .M35 2010
• Pearson Nurse's Drug Guide (Ref) RM125 .N78 2017
• Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care (Ref) RC48 .P76 2011
• Physician Assistant: A Guide to Clinical Practice (Ref) R679 .P45 P48 2013
• Physician ICD-9-CM: International Classification of Diseases (Ref) RB115 .I49 2017
• Physicians' Desk Reference  (Ref) RS75 .P5 2017
• Professional Guide to Diseases (Ref) RT65 .P69 2020
• A Primer for ICD-10-CM Users: Psychological and Behavioral Conditions (Ref) RC445.2 .C4 G662 2014
• Professional Guide to Diseases (Ref) RT65 .P69 2013
• Professional Guide to Signs and Symptoms (Ref) RC69 .P77 2011
• Saunders Nursing Guide to Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests (Ref) RB38.2 .M345 2012
• STDs in the United States (Ref) RC200.2 .N484 2018
• Textbook of Physical Diagnosis: History and Examination (Ref) RC76 .S95 2010
• Wallach's Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests  (Ref) RB38.2 .W35 2011
• Washington Manual of Critical Care  (Ref) RC86.8 .W38 2012
• Washington Manual of Medical Therapeutics (Ref) RM122 .W37 2020
• Washington Manual of Outpatient Internal Medicine  (Ref) RC55 .W375 2010
• Washington Manual of Surgery (Ref) RD37 .W37 2012
• Women's Health (Ref) RA564.85 .W66 2019

More ways to get help:

• Search our Frequently Asked Questions.
• Send us your question.
• Call us at 410-777-2456.
• Make an appointment with a librarian online via the Virtual Writing Center.

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change over time, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

• MLA
• APA

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the newest rules.