Sula (1973): Library Resources

Use the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to log in with your MyAACC credentials or enter your library barcode number.

Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:

To further research historical context of literary works, use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

No full text available?
Have only an article's abstract or just a citation?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or truxal@aacc.libanswers.com.

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Toni Morrison's Sula. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

• African American Writers
• American Diversity, American Identity: The Lives and Works of 145 Writers Who Define the American Experience
• American Women Writers [vols 3, 5]
• American Writers [supl 1, part 2]
• Black American Women Fiction Writers
• Black Literature Criticism (BLC) [vol 3]
• Black Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia  [vol 2]
• Contemporary Authors [vol 29-32]
• Contemporary Authors, New Revision Series [vols 27, 42, 67]
• Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
  • [vols 4, 10, 22, 55, 81, 87] - check under Sula in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
• Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 4]
• Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 3]
• Masterplots [vol 11]
• Masterplots II: African American Literature Series  [vol 3]
• Masterplots II: Women's Literature Series [vol 4]
• Modern American Literature [vols 5, 6]
• Notable American Novelists [vol 2]
• Notable Black American Women  [bk 1]
• Novels for Students [vol 14]
• Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
  • [vol 86] - locate the topical essay "Folklore in Literature"
  • [vol 94] - locate the topical essay "Women in Modern Literature"
  • [vol 98] - locate the topical essay "Violence in Literature"
  • [vol 110] - locate the topical essay "Magic Realism"
  • [vol 114] - locate the topical essay "Food and Literature"
  • [vol 126] - locate the "Special Commissioned Essay on African-American Folklore and Literature"
    

Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for either:

• Morrison, Toni
  
• African American women in literature
  

You'll find library materials that provide biographical information about Toni Morrison, as well criticism and interpretation of her work.

You might find the following eBooks useful for researching  Sula.

More ways to get help:

• Search our Frequently Asked Questions.
• Send us your question.
• Call us at 410-777-2456.
• Make an appointment with a librarian online via the Virtual Writing Center.

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change periodically, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit:

Using a citation generator from a database or website? Double-check to be sure the generator has used the current rules.