Skip to main content

Research Guide to Business: Library Resources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching business and finding company information

Circulating Materials

To find books, audio/visual materials, or print periodicals on your topic, conduct a keyword or subject search in the Library Catalog.

Try synonyms and related terms:

target market   OR   niche market
public finance   OR   public economics

cost accounting   OR   managerial accounting

From the information you find in the Catalog, be sure to note:

  • the Location of the item in the Library Building
  • the item's Call Number
  • whether the item is available or has been checked out

To become more familiar with finding materials in the Library's print collection, here's a guide to using Library of Congress call numbers:

Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for articles from periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers, etc.) and for information from electronic books and multimedia resources. From off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card.

Business Insights: Global
Articles from business and industry periodicals, company and industry profiles, rankings, histories, SWOT analyses, and more 

Business Source Premier
Articles from business and industry periodicals, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more

Small Business Resource Center
Articles, reference materials, and legal forms dealing with the creation and maintenance of small businesses

National Newspapers & The Sun
Current issues and archives of the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, Washington Post, Baltimore Sun, and more

SciVerse ScienceDirect
Articles from journals like Tourism Management, Journal of Family Business Strategy, Computers in Industry, and more

VAST: Academic Video Online
Case studies, documentaries, interviews, biographies, lectures, and instructional videos

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Titles like Business Plans Handbook, Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, and Encyclopedia of Management

Credo Reference
Titles like Wall Street Words, Dictionary of Accounting, Dictionary of Leisure, Travel, and Tourism, and much more

ebrary
Includes a large selection of business and management eBooks

EBSCO eBook Collection
Includes a large selection of business and management eBooks

ABC-CLIO eBook Collection
Includes a large selection of business and management eBooks

Demographics Now! AND Data.gov
Population and economic data for the U.S.

Gale LegalForms
Maryland legal forms

NOT ENOUGH INFO?  Try our multi-disciplinary databases:
Academic OneFile and Academic Search Premier

Searching for Full Text

NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or refdesk@aacc.edu.

Print Reference Materials

Find these materials in the Reference Section of Truxal Library: 

…in addition to specific resources for Accounting, Business Law, Economics, Finance, Human Resources, Management, and Marketing….
 

GENERAL

  • Business: The Ultimate Resource   (Ref) HD38.15 .B878 2006
  • Contracts: The Essential Business Desk Reference  (Ref) KF801 .Z9 S75 2016
  • Dictionary of Business Terms  (Ref) HF1001 .F78 2007
  • Dictionary of International Business Terms  (Ref) HD62.4 .C36 2004
  • The Oxford Handbook of Business Ethics   (Ref) HF5387 .O95 2010
  • Prologue: Doing Business in Maryland  (Ref) HF5065 .M3 M3 2004
  • Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Business Ethics and Society  (Ref) HF5387 .T36 2008
  • Taking Sides: Clashing Views on Economic Issues  (Ref) HC106.7 .T34 2010

BUSINESS COMMUNICATIONS

  • The AMA Handbook of Business Letters  (Ref) HF5726 .S42 2012
  • The AMA Handbook of Business Writing  (Ref) HF5726 .W55 2010
  • The Business Writer's Handbook  (Ref) HF5726 .B874 2015
  • Emily Post's The Etiquette Advantage in Business: Personal Skills for Professional Success  (Ref) HF5389 .P675 2014 
  • Passport to Success: The Essential Guide to Business Culture and Customs in America's Largest Trading Partners  (Ref) HF5389 .M3753 2009
  • Ultimate Book of Business Letters  (Ref) HF5721 .K54 2007
  • Writing that Works: Communicating Effectively on the Job  (Ref) HF5721 .K54 2007

STATISTICS AND RATIOS

  • Almanac of Business & Industrial Financial Ratios  (Ref) HF5681.R25 A45
  • Business Ratios and Formulas  (Ref) HF5691 .B73
  • Business Statistics of the United States  (Ref) HF1016 .B86
  • Employment, Hours, and Earnings, States and Areas  (Ref) HD5723 .E42
  • RMA Annual Statement Studies  (Ref) HF5681.B2 R58
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States  (Ref) HA202 .U5

DIRECTORIES, RANKINGS, AND PROFILES

  • American Inventors, Entrepreneurs, and Business Visionaries  (Ref) CT214 .C29 2011
  • Business Leader Profiles for Students  (Ref) HC102.5 .A2 B79
  • Business Rankings Annual: Lists Of Companies, Products, Services, & Activities  (Ref) HG4050 .B88
  • Company Profiles for Students  (Ref) HG4057 .A27
  • Handbook of Industry Profiles  (Ref) HD2328 .H363
  • Hoover's Handbook of American Business  (Ref) HG4057 .A286
  • Hoover's Handbook of Emerging Companies  (Ref) HG4057 .A287
  • Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies  (Ref) HG4057 .A285
  • Hoover's Handbook of World Business  (Ref) HG4009 .H66
  • World Chamber of Commerce Directory  (Ref) HF294 .W75 2009

SMALL BUSINESS

  • The American Bar Association Legal Guide for Small Business  (Ref) KF1659.Z9 A43 2000
  • Business Plans Handbook: A Compilation of Actual Business Plans Developed by Small Businesses Throughout North America  (Ref) HD62.7 .B865
  • Entrepreneur Magazine’s Ultimate Guide for Incorporating in Any State  (Ref) KF1420.Z9 S63 2004
  • Forming an LLC: In Any State  (Ref) KF1380 .Z95 S68 2007
  • Legal Guide for Starting & Running a Small Business  (Ref) KF1659 .Z9 S76 2015
  • ‚ÄčSmall Business and Entrepreneur's Resource Guide for Anne Arundel County  (Ref) HF5041 .S55 2006
  • Small Business Sourcebook  (Ref) HD2346.U5 S66
  • Top Tax Savings Ideas: A Small Business Tax Survival Kit  (Ref) KF6491.Z9 S75 2004
  • Ultimate Book of Business Forms  (Ref) KF1355 .A65 T48 2010
  • Ultimate Book of Franchises  (Ref) HF5429.23 .L47 2007

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

NEWEST RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change over time, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the newest rules.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography