Beowulf (8th Century A.D.): Library Resources

Use the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to log in with your MyAACC credentials or enter your library barcode number.

Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:

To further research historical context of literary works, use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

No full text available?
Have only an article's abstract or just a citation?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or truxal@aacc.libanswers.com.

Full text of Beowulf is also available on the Web at:

• Beowulf in Hypertext
• Project Gutenberg
• University of Virginia

Print copies are also available in Truxal Library.

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Beowulf. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

• Cambridge Guide to English Literature
• Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism (CMLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
  • [vol 1, 43] - check under Beowulf (Anonymous) in the Cumulative Title Index, which is located in the latest volume of this multi-volume work
• The Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature [vol 1]
• Critical Survey of Poetry [vol 8]
• Critical Temper: A Survey of Modern Criticism on English and American Literature from the Beginnings to the Twentieth Century [vols 1, 4]
• Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 1]
• Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 1]
  
• Library of Literary Criticism [vol 1]
• Literature and Its Times [vol 1]
• Masterplots [vol 1]
• Poetry Criticism - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
  • [vol 22] - check under Beowulf (Anonymous) in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
• Poetry for Students [vol 11]
  
• World Literature and Its Times [vol 3]

Conduct a "Subject Browse" search using the Library Catalog for:

• Beowulf

You'll find library materials that provide criticism and interpretation of Beowulf.

You might find the following eBook useful for researching Beowulf.  not on campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access this resource.

More ways to get help:

• Search our Frequently Asked Questions.
• Send us your question.
• Call us at 410-777-2456.
• Make an appointment with a librarian online via the Virtual Writing Center.

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines change periodically, especially for citing sources accessed electronically. For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit:

Using a citation generator from a database or website? Double-check to be sure the generator has used the current rules.