Skip to main content

All Quiet on the Western Front (1929): Library Resources

A list of resources available through Truxal Library for researching Erich Maria Remarque's All Quiet on the Western Front

Library Databases

Click on the links below to search for criticism and interpretation of literary works, as well as biographical information about authors. To access databases from off-campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your Truxal Library card or AACC photo ID.

Use this database for general background information and to define unfamiliar words and phrases:     

To further research historical context of literary works, use:

Use these databases to broaden your search:

Searching for Full Text

NO FULL TEXT AVAILABLE?
HAVE ONLY AN ARTICLE'S ABSTRACT OR JUST A CITATION?

Use the library's Finding Articles from Citations page, which is part of the Finding Materials from Citations Guide.

For assistance, contact the reference desk at 410-777-2456 or refdesk@aacc.edu.

Alternate Titles

Please note that Erich Maria Remarque's All Quiet on the Western Front may be listed by its original German title, Im Westen nichts Neues.

eBook Spotlight

You might find the following eBooks useful for researching All Quiet on the Western Front.  If not on campus, you will need to enter the barcode number from the back of your AACC photo ID or Truxal Library card to access these resources.

Reference Material

Search the Library Catalog for the following reference titles that contain material about Remarque's All Quiet on the Western Front. These titles may be available in other college or public libraries.

  • Atlas for the Great War
  • Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
    • [vol 21]  - look for Im Westen nichts Neues in the Cumulative Title Index, a separate paperback index that accompanies this multi-volume work
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Characters [vol 1]
  • Cyclopedia of Literary Places [vol 1]
  • Cyclopedia of World Authors [vol 3]
  • The Encyclopedia of Novels into Film
  • Literature and Its Times [vol 3]
  • Masterplots [vol 1]
  • Novels for Students [vol 4]
  • Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC) - Contains passages from literary criticism originally published in books and journals
    • [vol 34] - locate the topical essay "World War I Literature"
    • [vol 154] - locate the topical essay "Censorship in Twentieth-Century Literature"
  • World Authors [vol 3]

Books & Audio/Visual Materials

Research Assistance

More ways to get help:

NEW RULES

MLA-style and APA-style guidelines have changed recently, especially for citing sources accessed electronically.  For the most up-to-date information about how to cite sources correctly, visit these pages:

Using a citation generator from a database or website?
Doublecheck to be sure the generator has used the current rules.

Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography