The library subscribes to over fifty databases. These databases provide access to the library's electronic collections including thousands of electronic books, online magazines, newspapers, and journals, streaming video, and more. Most of these materials are not available for free online, and, because the library pays for them, you will need to enter your MyAACC username and password to access them remotely.
There are many good options available at Truxal Library! The answer really depends on the topic, and the type of resources needed for your research. However, here are a couple of resources that seem to work well for a lot of assignments:
A great database for getting the sort of background information is CREDO. This is a collection of reference books, so it provides the kind of background information you might find in a source like Wikipedia, except much easier to cite!
A great overall database for locating articles is Academic Search Premier. This database is full of full-text journals, which contain scholarly or peer-reviewed articles, as well as articles from popular sources such as magazines and newspapers.
If you don't find what you need in these resources, try looking through our resources by topic. There are two ways to sort our resources by topic: Visit our A to Z database page and select the subject that best fits your research topic. Browse our subject guides. You are also welcome to get in touch with us with more details about your research topic. We would be delighted to make more specific recommendations!
Library photo courtesy of Barry Halkin Photography